We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Remodeled Hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was a visit to the UMass campus to reconnect with old friends. This hotel isn't far from the campus but will require a car as it is too far to walk. the only restaurants within walking distance are of the fast food variety. the room were convenient suite styled rooms. the hotel was fairly noisy as many staying were part of a youth hockey tournament. the noise I did hear was mostly from the youngsters. If it had been mostly adults I think it would have been quieter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear JimKal,

Your willingness to share your recent experience here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites is genuinely appreciated. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your suite and the renovations we just completed on the hotel.

We sincerely apologize for the noise level you encountered during your stay with us. You can always alert the front desk staff of any noise disturbances and our staff will take it from there. We want all of our guests to be able to relax and get a good night's sleep during their stay.

I want you to know the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we are doing right, what we are doing wrong and how we can improve. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and sharing your experience.

Alexandrea W
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    110
    35
    8
    8
See reviews for
114
32
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This was your standard Holiday Inn Express. They warned me there was renovation work going on - even calling ahead to let me know -though they said it should not affect my stay. It didn't. What did affect my stay was the air conditioning system. There was only one room temperature-"too hot." But even more frustrating was the internet which was inconsistent, sometimes cutting out all together. And I was unable to use my cell phone as they AT&T signal at the hotel in my room (143) was too weak. The people were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripp F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Tripp F,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback. We are deeply sorry that the heating/AC unit and internet quality inconvenienced your stay. Your comfort and experience is our top priority and we want to know how to make it better for any future stays with us. Thankfully, your comments have prompted us to look into the units on the first floor and our internet service. It looks like there was a slight problem with our internet router, which we were able to pin down the problem and correct. Our chief engineer also looked into all the units and serviced them recently. We always strive to do our best by all of our guests. Please feel free to contact the General Manager at your convenience, to further discuss your stay with us.

At Your Service,
Stephanie C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here last night. Our room was just ok. The back of the bathroom door was stained along with the carpet. We needed to turn off the heat due to the excessive noise. Our room was right outside of the elevator so we heard the bing/bong every time the doors opened. I don't know other prices of hotels in the area but it seemed pricey for what you get. I will try a different hotel the next time we come back to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationingisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Vacationingisthebest,
Your feedback is a great way for the hotel to improve. We really appreciate it, thank you. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience the heater and elevator caused. Your comfort at the hotel is a top priority for us. I am happy to say we are renovating the rooms with new carpeting, lighting fixtures and much more. Please contact the hotel directly; the management team would love to hear more about your stay. We really appreciate your feedback.
Thank you.
Best Regards
Stephanie C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting family in the area. The staff was friendly - they spoke to us each time we came in or went out. The contintental breakfast was the best I've ever seen, from bagels, muffins, got cinnamon rolls, and precooded omelets to pancakes! Coffee was always available. We had 3 in our room of 2 beds, but there was room for our suitcases; the bathroom was large. It was right on Route 9, with plenty of restaurants nearby, along with other shopping. We'll stay here again!

Room Tip: We had one towards the back - so had no road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnpatrol11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vatican City, Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Staff very helpful-friendly and hotel VERY clean. Bedding variable. My room had 2 queens one of the beds was like sleeping on rocks. Furniture ready for replacement. Make that an update for all rooms. Average short stay hotel. Breakfast (or so they call it that) is included and the coffee is drinkable. The food is partially edible. The best part of breakfast was watching the customers ask the staff, "What is that?", pointing at the breakfast options. If it is unidentifiable you may be in trouble. You do get a free paper...almost. The room was over $200 per night. Talk about rip off. Not much competition in the area. It is basically a Motel 8 room. The facility is good but the CRAZY pricing throws it into a poor rating zone. There are plenty of places nearby to eat breakfast. LOL

Room Tip: 3 Floors Top would be quitest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LinusBF2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hello LinusBF2,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I am happy to say that the hotel will be starting phase 2 of our property improvement plan. This phase of the plan includes brand new furniture, lighting, and drapery, along with brand new carpeting. We are looking forward to the completion of this improvement plan in early 2013. Thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel. I am terribly sorry about your experience you encountered at the hotel. We hope you will be willing to try the hotel in the future.
Best Regards,
Stephanie Chueng
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a nice hotel, clean, centrally located, friendly staff but very pricey for a Holiday Inn Express in our travel experience. All went well and no reason not to recco if price no object or if being close to colleges critical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fischstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

may 2011 book a room for graduation in may 2012. was told I had to book 2 consecutive nights, which I did. also had to pay $100. deposit .Was never given a contract to sign. In February 2012 found out my nephew was not graduating and tried to change my reservation to Sept.2012. when he was going to finish. I was told that I could change my dates but would have to leave another $100. deposit because I was losing my previous deposit. Was told that they told me that on the phone when I made initail reservation! Again nothing in writing.Then I was told if they booked my room he would consider giving me back my deposit.Called the day I was suppose to arrive to see if there were any rooms, Was told they were booked entire weekend. called the manager to tell him and he said it was a mistake by the girl on the phone,that were not booked entire weekend. Big college graduation I am sure they were booked and rebooked my room.

Room Tip: choose another place
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank maryann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Maryann M.,
Thank you for taking your time to review the Holiday Inn Express. I apologize for the experience you had with this hotel. As the new General Manager, I am deeply concerned about what occurred After reviewing the information you provided it appears the only reservations aside from graduation packages that require an advance deposit are our "Summer Special Offer." If you would be willing to contact me directly, I would like to gather some further information about your reservation to better help resolve this issue.

Thank you very much.
At Your Service,
Stephanie C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadley
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Hadley Amherst
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 7 in Hadley
169 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
0.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Amherst Hadley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley
Address: 400 Russell St, Hadley, MA 01035-9579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Hampshire County > Hadley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Hadley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Amherst/Hadley, is located in the Pioneer Valley, conveniently situated near Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, Smith College, and the University of Massachusetts. Our 100 rooms include a business class floor and 22 suites. Enjoy complimentary, deluxe 'Smart Start' breakfast, including hot items; wireless high-speed Internet; and use of our indoor pool and fitness room. Explore all our area has to offer and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amherst-Hadley Hotel Hadley
Holiday Inn Express Hadley
Holiday Inn Hadley
Hadley Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing