We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's consistently good, but the owners do not walk on water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Route 9 Diner - CLOSED

Route 9 Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's consistently good, but the owners do not walk on water!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've eaten lunch or dinner there more than half a dozen times and neither been disappointed nor blown out of the water impressed. It is consistently clean, good. fairly efficient and priced about average for a diner. (You expected cheap food from a diner about 10 miles from three elite colleges?) The staff is competent, the portions are generous and the wait time for your meal is about average for a diner. Some items are good values; others rather pricey. It does have a tremendous variety. (It is not a greasy spoon diner, though)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomInPenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    45
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome variety and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is awesome...never disappoints! The menu is extensive and everything I've ordered has been delicious. Try the black and white waffle or the grilled chicken sandwich with avacado.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Level Contributor
270 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food and LOTS OF IT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stumbled on the diner and were surprised at how good the food was. The challah french toast was the best french toast I've ever had. The clam chowder was tasty, clammy, but a little thinner than I expect in New England. But here's the amazing thing- I order a cup, and out came a bowl. It turns out that at the Rt 9 diner, everything is super-sized. I have no idea what container a bowl of soup comes in, but it would be a meal in itself! The other meals we saw going by to other customers looked equally tasty and quantities larger than a normal human can consume in a sitting. The service is attentive and helpful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelguyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good for Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Route 9 diner is what it is. A good greasy spoon (I mean that as a compliment) breakfast diner. The choices range from predictable to esoteric. i have tried a few different regular meals and found them to be tasty, quickly served and big. The wait staff are friendly and are quick to refill your mug. Overall, if you are a breakfast fan, you can' go wrong. Give Rt. 9 a try

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shem01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice place on Snowy Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just were snowbound in Hadley Hotel for 15 hours, travel ban on all roads during superstorm Nemo! When ban was lifted my Son and I headed out to find some grub. Nothing open, lot's still needed plowing, then...over the horizon, The Route 9 diner came to life! It was open..and we were greeted and sat immediately. Huge menu, Breakfast, lunch & dinner. Waitress super nice, not very busy. Decided on a sandwich, my son had a burger. Everything came out super fast, drinks replenished, and made to order. Great experience, Thanked on our way out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoodoo2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 9 Diner also viewed

Hadley, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 
Hadley, Hampshire County
Hadley, Hampshire County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing