We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax and have a coffee outside” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Esselon Cafe

Esselon Cafe
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Hadley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Esselon cafe is an award winning café featuring fresh roasted coffee, rare and exotic teas, and a full menu. Esselon is centrally located between Amherst and Northampton, on Route 9 on The Common in Hadley, MA, with ample parking. Esselon offers outdoor dining during the Spring, Summer and Fall months in our gardens. You'll love the casual atmosphere, the rich décor, and our friendly, upbeat staff. Esselon offers breakfast Monday through Friday and an award winning brunch on Saturdays and Sundays from 8am to 3pm. We feature seasonal specials as well as a regular brunch menu. Esselon Cafe has a full bistro lunch menu and an extensive dinner menu Monday through Saturday. A substantial wine selection and local craft brewed beers are also available. Enjoy iced and brewed coffee beverages, iced and hot teas and seasonal drinks, plus pastries, baked goods, and fresh sandwiches ready for quick and easy pick up.
Natal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and have a coffee outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The place in the summer is absolutely lovely. They also sell coffee from around the world, in case you are a coffee hunter...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robby2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    56
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrific food! A great place to take your college student!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not what you might expect. It's eclectic, relaxed, coffee house feel does not convey the serious food served here. Its very good. The menu is short, written on a chalkboard. Don't let that fool you. Order any of the choices, you won't be disappointed. Two in our party had salmon omlettes and raved about them. The pancakes with fresh berries and yogurt sauce were great. Portions are large. You order and pay at the counter and a server brings your food. It all seems a bit confusing at first, but deal with it...the food is worth it! I took my college student son and his friend- they loved it. It was our second time at Esselon and it was consistently good. They also have a wide choice of coffees, pastries, etc.- you can go for just a cup of espresso and a chat. Great place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CamNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level Contributor
220 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food, laid back atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great breakfast location. Food is plentiful and well prepared, but a bit pricey. Had a massive order of maple pecan pancakes that were impossible to finish. We will probably go with one entree and a side instead if two entrees next iptime.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lhjraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ecclectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

When you first walk in it has an exotic feel about it. Feels like you've walked into another country. They have an extensive list of coffee drinks for every taste. They also have a wonderful tea selection. They make delicious breakfast and have an eye catching pastry case. A great place to get together with friends. Very popular and busy most of the time. Prices moderate.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MamaMo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very very nice cafe, with the best prepared salmon dishes in the land, right next to my own, hehehe.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I don't know if it's the sushi grade salmon they cook or that they just know how to cook, but it is difficult to find anything on par with it. I order my fish cooked medium. They tend to change up their salmon dishes, and I've tried a number if them. All have been extraordinarily well done. I've also had soups and other food here. Funny thing is, it's just a cafe!!!!! So, why the 4 and not 5 stars....well, it's a prices. They are a little on the expensive side. You will not beat the salmon though, try as you may...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esselon Cafe also viewed

Hadley, Hampshire County
Northampton, Hampshire County
 
Hadley, Hampshire County
Amherst, Hampshire County
 

Been to Esselon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing