We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still best in the area”
Review of Brandt House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brandt House
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
amherst, ma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Still best in the area”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Loved our repeat stay. Sean is a very solicitous host and Heather's freshly baked blueberry muffin was terrific. Breakfast, as usual, is very generous with choices of cold cereals and/or hot entrees cooked to order. We particularly enjoyed the lighted fireplace and glass of wine.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank localdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    13
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
73
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camuy, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This past weekend I spent another wonderful night at this marvelous house. I often travel from my home in the Caribbean to visit my daughter and husband and our visit is not complete until we visit The Brandt House. The house, the decor and the grounds are beautiful but what makes it perfect is the owner and his staff. Few places can share this special gift. Try it out you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Suite All rooms offer their own good qualities but suite 1 and 9 offer a fireplace that is a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Brandt House has so many public rooms, and oh ! that porch ! The reason I stay in a B and B is so that I don't have to be cooped up in my room. The porch at Brandt House was an amazing place to in Autumn--leaf showers, crisp air, color and movement-what a feast for the eyes ! Our room was delightul and the breakfast was amazing--so many choices that I cannot imagine anyone not finding something to please them ! At our table, so many charming and interesting guests. The staff was so helpful, gracious and informative that they really added to may stay ! I'll be back to claim that rocking chair on the porch next Fall !

Room Tip: There are some smaller rooms, so if you want a large room, you should ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank marcy46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, New York, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A wonderful place to stay, great atmosphere and wonderful hospitality. The house itself is breathtaking and comfortable. Our room was exquisite and inviting. My favorites were the fireplace and the deep soaking tub. I did find it odd that the furnishings and decor ran a gamut of periods and styles, which were unsettling to me and just not my taste.

Another strange revelation was that the front door is never locked! Since I smoke, I always make sure I know exactly where to go, and how to get back in! I will admit that the house not being locked made me feel uneasy, after all it is certainly not secluded.

Breakfast left a lot to be desired for the amount of money it cost to stay there and upon leaving my friend and I stopped at a diner for omelets and coffee.

Overall, this B&B should appeal to many types of people and I would stay again knowing what to expect and plan accordingly for what I find to be deficiencies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tr8cie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have never stayed at a B&B before, but if they all are like this, I'm hooked. Friendly service, great food and beautiful rooms. The staff was very accommodating. The views were phenomenal. I wish I could have stayed longer!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank natatafish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we received a great welcome from Cathy, who was in the middle of baking a cake for the guests. We weren't really expecting much from Brandt House, just an overnight stop, but this place is an absolute gem. The house is beautiful with a number of little nooks in which to relax and enjoy this quiet and idyllic location and we enjoyed strolling in the pretty garden.

The breakfast was extensive with much use of local ingredients and we appreciated the small and unexpected touches like a fresh apple on departure for the journey.
Just wish we'd planned a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurinkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of the best places i have ever stayed in the US. Beautiful location and amazing property. Recommend it for anyone who wishes to escape and have an incredible stay in a fantastic bed and breakfast.
Beautiful and comfortable rooms, amazing hosts, great breakfast, and just a fantastic house to stay in for a few days

Room Tip: all rooms amazing, for single, couple or family use
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dzograf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
2.7 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
807 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
16.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Hadley
Econo Lodge Hadley
#5 of 7 in Hadley
139 reviews
7.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandt House

Property: Brandt House
Address: 29 Highland Ave, Greenfield, MA 01301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Greenfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandt House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brandt House three and-a-half-acre, turn-of-the-century estate is located in a charming residential area of Greenfield, just minutes from I-91 and Route 2 in northwestern Massachusetts. Greenfield and the Pioneer Valley blend culture, history, adventure, and hospitality into an unforgettable rural vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Brandt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing