We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Brandt House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brandt House
Ranked #2 of 5 Greenfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

One of the best places i have ever stayed in the US. Beautiful location and amazing property. Recommend it for anyone who wishes to escape and have an incredible stay in a fantastic bed and breakfast.
Beautiful and comfortable rooms, amazing hosts, great breakfast, and just a fantastic house to stay in for a few days

Room Tip: all rooms amazing, for single, couple or family use
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzograf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Brandt House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 149 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a wonderful find in northwest massachusetts. This place came highly recommended by friends I was visiting. I stayed in room 1.. A lovely room with a king size bed as well as a day bed. The room also has a working fireplace and separately controlled a/c.

The linens and toiletries are "boutique" quality. The whole house was impeccably clean!

The breakfast was scrumptious, complete with fresh fruit, home made granola, fresh baked breads, eggs to order and on one morning, pumpkin waffles. YUM! And what a surprise when they had a selection of teas from the Carleston Tea Plantation...my home town!

Innkeeper Sean Warren is a perfectionist and consequently, a wonderful host. His staff are great too!

This is my new go-to place in Pioneer Valley

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! The hospitality was wonderful and they treated folks like family. They provided bottles of water at no charge and ice for folks who were attending the local festival. Upon our arrival we were greeted and offered an upgrade to a nicer room with a private bath which was wonderful. Be sure not to miss breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w0nderlustqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our second time to the Brandt House. We stayed there 2 years ago and were very pleased. We recommended it to the rest of our family this time....always nerve wracking. Needless to say, there was no reason to be worried! Once again Sean and Heather delivered! 10 of us stayed and not one person had a negative comment...the dogs loved it too! Sean was welcoming and warm and Heather's delicious breakfast was nothing short of awesome! My son is still talking about the bacon! Stuffed french toast, fresh fruit and hot coffee was the perfect way to start our day! We can't wait to go back ~ HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraMac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We happened upon Brandt House B & B in Greenfield, Mass. when we needed a one night stay in conjunction with husband's work. What a lovely, peaceful, comfortable and welcoming place! Huge wrap around porch with lots of comfortable furniture...very nice room with all the amenities...gracious hosts...delicious breakfast...and within walking distance to an incredible old-fashioned department store, Wilson's, and to an amazing farm-to-table dining spot, Hope & Olive. I'll try to find reasons to stay at Brandt House again....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The house itself was beautiful, with lovely gardens and porch. However, all the reviews said how friendly everyone is - maybe if you can find them! When we arrived (4pm, as we had said), we found no-one, so just had to take our "welcome letter" (details of where our room was) and find it ourselves. It was 2 hours before we found anyone to ask about places to eat in the town. How is this helpful or friendly? Even big faceless places have reception!
We stayed in 2 rooms at the top of the house - 4 & 5, sharing a bathroom. 4 was fine but the TV didn't work and no-one could get it working. Room 5 was so tiny we couldn't find anywhere to even put our case, it was so small! Ok, so there are lots of sitting areas in and outside the house, and we only had to sleep there. Also, we saw into some other rooms and they were much bigger, so not all rooms are small. Final problem, the bed in room 5 creaked so badly that one of us couldn't turn over without waking the other.
We really did love the house and porch but I think it started badly by having no-one around to just say hi. That would probably have made a big difference; as it was, we felt we shouldn't be there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
29highland, Owner at Brandt House, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and to share your experience. I was surprised and disappointed to hear that you felt that you were not greeted and welcomed into the Brandt House appropriately. We do strive to provide the "Right" level of attention to our guests without being too much in they way of their being able to enjoy the property.

As for the size of rooms 4 and 5, you are correct in that they are the smallest rooms in the house and as a results are priced lower than the others. I believe our larger rooms were booked when you reserved as we were sold out during your stay. I also do appreciate the feedback on the bed in room 5 and will look into the issue and remedy as needed.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review the house as all reviews help us to make changes to improve the overall guest experience.

Please accept my apologies and should you be in Western Massachusetts in the future, I would enjoy the opportunity to have you stay with us again so that we can provide you with a better experience.

Best regards,
Sean Warren
Innkeeper/Owner
Brandt House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a unique and fashionable B & B! Artistic touches and treasures abound - unusual pieces combine with classic American antiques for upscale country elegance. Very fine attention to detail; no cutting corners here. Imagine this property would be the preferred destination for the most discriminating guest. But it wasn't stuffy at all. Quite the opposite! Excellent staff were very accommodating.

If all rooms are like the one we had (#6), you couldn't ask for better. Lovely view out to the back yard Zen garden. Smallish room but 3 large windows bathed us in filtered light. Immaculate bathroom. Central AC was a little tricky ... someone has to stand on the dresser to reach the adjustment! But it worked fine & quietly.

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Coffee was ready early for us. We were greeted with the offer of wine & cheese on the porch when we arrived at 5pm. Perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuMac747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
2.7 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
838 reviews
18.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Springfield Northampton/Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Hadley-Amherst
18.4 mi away
Hotel Northampton
Hotel Northampton
#2 of 5 in Northampton
427 reviews
7.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brandt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brandt House

Address: 29 Highland Ave, Greenfield, MA 01301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Greenfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenfield
Price Range: $208 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brandt House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brandt House three and-a-half-acre, turn-of-the-century estate is located in a charming residential area of Greenfield, just minutes from I-91 and Route 2 in northwestern Massachusetts. Greenfield and the Pioneer Valley blend culture, history, adventure, and hospitality into an unforgettable rural vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Brandt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing