We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Work in Progress”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poetry Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Greenfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A friend of mine and I stayed at Poetry Ridge on a recent golfing trip. We were looking for something a step above the poor selection of Day's Inns, etc. around Greenfield.

The approach to Poetry Ridge is up a long driveway. It was a bit of a dreary afternoon and my friend mentioned the place looked like it was out of a Stephen King novel due to it being such a large white New England home and in need of a bit of maintenance.

Once inside though we were warmly welcomed by the cordial innkeepers, Errol and Mary. The rooms had great views over the mountains and were very clean. Unlike a lot of B & B's the decorating isn't calico and chintz ( a welcome change). I'd call it eclectic antique. Beds were comfy and breakfast the next morning was excellent without being over the top.

Poetry Ridge needs a bit more work to be great but is already quite good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Poetry Ridge Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 28 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We took my two nephews, ages 10 and 11, out to Greenfield to search for a Christmas tree in early December 2011 and chose to stay overnight. After looking at many places to stay we settled on Poetry Ridge. We thought we might sneak a "hike" in as well, and there were paths off of the property that looked our speed. We weren't sure what the boys were going to think, as they have never stayed in a B&B before, but we were all pleasantly surprised. Errol and Mary were very gracious as hosts and were willing to help out with dinner plans, keeping the nephews in mind. They were sure to include the boys in conversation and were attentive to all their needs in the morning over breakfast.
The room was plenty big enough, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and also varied. We did hike one of the trails off the property and made it to Poetry Ridge to look down over Greenfield...it was beautiful; we hit it just as the lights in the town started coming on...fantastic!
We left Greenfield with many good memories and thoughts to return. When we do return we will probably give Errol and Mary a call!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneV87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Erroll and Mary - the innkeepers - are restoring this centruy old vacation home to its former splendor. They are very cordial and engaging hosts who make every effort to meet their guests' needs. We stayed in the Whittier Room which has a spectacular view of the Connecticut River valley. The rooms are spacious and nicely appointed. The beds are in good shape (we both slept very soundly). Our breakfast was excellent with a variety of foods - pastries, fruits, cereals, breads, and beverages. The property sits on 11 acres and you have access to several trails nearby that provide beautiful views of the river valley on the east side of the ridge and the town of Greenfield on the other.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpeter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I am writing as the 2nd sister from 4 sisters on a annual weekend getaway. Poetry Ridge B&B affords us a comfortable room, a balcony to enjoy wine and cheese with a wonderful view to catch up with each other's lives before we venture out and explore the area.
Errol and Mary are wonderful hosts. Always welcoming and courteous and never intrusive. We invited them to join us for a welcoming glass of wine when we first arrived because we enjoy their company, then they left us to enjoy and catch up with each other.

The next morning, they made us a simple breakfast, as we requested. Mary surprised us with the most delicious bite size rasberry muffins they she made from scratch. The next day, she served a scrumptious individually puff pastry which she invented. It had dill, onion and smoked salmon and brie cheese. Hmmm, delicious.
We had a wonderful time. Rooms were spotless and spacious. Errol and Mary make you feel that you are a guest in their home and not just a customer. Great people.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Poetry Ridge is a beautiful summer home built in 1910. Staying at Poetry Ridge is like a trip back in time. The rooms have the ambiance of a pleasant bygone era. Errol and Mary, the proprietors are charming and friendly. They make your stay feel like your visiting family or friends. Mary prepares the breakfasts which are delicious and they help start your day with interesting conversation and information about the surrouding places of interest. Errol's degree in history comes through with his knowledge of the history of the house and the area.

Obviously poets stayed at Poetry Ridge during the years. As a result the most endearing part of our visit was reading the poems other guests have written about their stay at Poetry Ridge. And, of course, writing our own poem. Leaving your poem behind makes you part of the past of the home.

My sisters and I have returned there because of the relaxing, serene, charming, pleaseant service and friendliness we feel the moment we step onto the grounds of Poetry Ridge.

We all recommend it in every way.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hokahminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Three of my four sisters visited Poetry Ridge for the first time in October 2009 for an annual reunion. When planning our 2010 trip, we all agreed we wanted to return to this lovely B&B and its gracious, wonderful hosts - Mary and Errol. Both years we stayed in the suite at the end of the home with the lovely view of the mountain range. Our newly established tradition is to stay on the deck outside the suite with our wine and cheese enjoying the country as soon as we arrive. The large king bed has the softest mattress around. The private bath is spacious and clean. The woods and trails are a photographer's paradise. If you love history, the library is a treasure. Think of a person or time or event - you will find a book to enjoy. All guests are asked to write a poem in the guest books in the room. Visit the Poetry Ridge and find out what we wrote. Sister number 4 from Vermont

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourSisters04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have stayed there several times, touring Deerfield, Boston, and Stowe (with a side trip to Shelburne Falls). The local poetry ridge hike is excellent with a beautiful scenic overlook. The service was great and they were very occomodating to our schedule.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayTrippur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
4.1 mi away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
838 reviews
14.9 mi away
Hotel UMass
Hotel UMass
#1 of 3 in Amherst
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 5 in Greenfield
149 reviews
9.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
510 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
The Inn at Crumpin-Fox
#1 of 1 in Bernardston
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poetry Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poetry Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 55 Stone Ridge Ln, Greenfield, MA 01301-1324
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Greenfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Greenfield
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing