We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A (very) welcome new addition to the neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clay Oven - CLOSED

The Clay Oven
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A (very) welcome new addition to the neighborhood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I are world travelers and have spent time in India. We are thrilled to welcome this excellent new Indian restaurant to our vicinity! From our house in Leverett, MA it’s a bit of a drive but WELL WORTH THE EFFORT. We go often, and we always plan to order enough to enjoy ‘take-out’ later in the week. The menu is not just delicious; it is also authentic and diverse, with plenty of great vegetarian options. We've tried many dishes and they've all been excellent. You can also ask for your dishes to be seasoned ‘mild, medium, or hot’, which we appreciate because we love spicy food, and far too often exotic restaurants will go super light on the spices for unadventurous American customers. One of my favorite things about the Clay Don’t miss their many options of Naan (a yummy traditional flat leavened bread baked in clay oven that goes fabulously well with everything). They’re all excellent, but Garlic and Cilantro is truly divine! We also tried the lunch buffet and enjoyed it tremendously, although I prefer enjoying a long dinner date. The only problem with The Clay Oven is that everything is so good that we always eat too much, no matter how hard we try not to. It’s just that good. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Indian in the Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The Clay Oven is absolutely the best Indian food in the Pioneer Valley - far better than pricier alternatives (found in Northampton - for example).

We love the Lamb Shishkebab, Chicken Tika, Samosa (both Lamb and Vegetable). Their breads and Kormas are great and the service lovely.

It is a great place for families and friends. The exposed brick and pleasant decor make for a casual dining experience.

Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank VacationMongerMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst,MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious, fresh food …. Go to the Clay Oven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I decided to try the lunch buffet for $9.95…. All the food was freshly cooked, including the tandoori chicken which was not overcooked and juicy. The staff was friendly. The rice pudding for dessert was a nice touch. Try the carrot pudding…. nicely seasoned with cardamon.
Very calming atmosphere. so, go to the Clay Oven.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Greenfield is so happy that the Clay Oven has opened. The buffet lunch has a wonderful selection & the evening meals are really good. This is quality Indian food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wordsmith2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic addition to downtown Greenfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Well-seasoned food, generous portions, courteous service, and I love the orange walls.
We had two great entrees--one vegetarian and the other with shrimp. I did not like the veggie pakora--they did not taste fresh and the tamarind sauce was watery and relatively flavorless. The main courses and the raita were top notch. We asked for medium spicy and that's what we got. I intend to become a regular!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Oven also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing