We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my Favorites”
Review of China Gourmet

China Gourmet
Ranked #18 of 60 Restaurants in Greenfield
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Clinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is one of my favorite place. Food done right, great steamed dumplings & Lo Mein & wonton soup! The staff is always very friendly. Great local place to stop!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TheConfusedHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    32
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
w. ma.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Awesome service. Beautiful decor. Talented Sushi chefs. Sizzling Duck has always been a favorite. I'd be surprised if your water glass ever gets empty. Brown rice is available. Owner has moved on to a new location in Amherst, Ma., but all remains the same.(I believe family members took over, but not positive). A must to try is the crab rangoons, the best I've ever had.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chaneez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
349 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Used to Go All The Time...But Now Only Take Out Once in Awhile”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

China Gourmet is an average restaurant with Chinese and Japanese offerinsg and a daily specials menu. It has a sushi bar with standard selections. The prices and portions are good, but I have had great food some times and only average food other times. Used to go all the time (at least once a week), but now only occasionally do take out. The attention to detail and service is okay, but was better a couple of years ago. I am a big sushi fan and they used to make lots of veggie carving and really decorate the plate well...not so much anymore...seems like they have a different and less skilled team preparing the sushi. Love the mu shu pork, chicken and green beans with ginger sauce, house lo mein, pan fried dumplings, szechaun shrimp, brown rice. Staff are friendly, seating is usually good with waits some times for dinner on Thursday and Friday. Still will go once in a while for lunch or take out, maybe once a month, but find myself traveling to Ginger Garden in Amherst for something better even though I live in Greenfield.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michie1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food & decor/get rid of the "blender"”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The food here is consistently good, the service usually good, but the blender in the bar area can be heard (loudly) throughout the restaurant when it is in use. Ugh! Totally blocks out the very low music in the background.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorinneDugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yuk”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The food was mushy and uninteresting. I can make better Chinese food in my Irish kitchen.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to China Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing