We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation for reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain View Motel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent accommodation for reasonable price”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the motel in June for 3 nights, rooms were clean, comfortable with outdoor pool an added bonus. Staff very friendly and professional. I would def recommend this motel and would have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    45
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
58
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yaphank, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The motel was an old-fashioned-no breakfast and small room,but the furniture sas updated, and the bathroom looked as if it was just remodeled. Everything from fhe walls, floors shower stall, toilet and sink. Very clean. Pleasant owner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were very pleased with our experience at this motel. I neither expected nor wanted a four star hotel - this was a very clean basic place with several lovely features. It's beautifully situated against a wooded hillside - we had a window both front and back and thus had a view of those woods. The room itself is much larger than many budget motels. The beds were very comfortable with an individual lamp for each. And the owner is an extremely friendly person who seems more like your host than a manager - and he clearly takes pride in his business. There were two things the room lacked that some people care about: one is a hair dryer, the other a coffee maker. I would definitely go back, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lphz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were very appreciative of the service . Extra pillows and very comfortable bed was much appreciated . It is an older motel and does have a very musty odor especially when it rains . I would highly recommend replacing the old carpeting as I am sure that is a culprit for the mustiness . Good shower much appreciated . The price is definitely right for the Berkshires during a holiday week . We would stay again .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

I'm an AT thru hiker. This place was listed in my guide as one of several locations to stay in the area. I found the property and room to be basic but clean and comfortable. I found the owner to be incredibly accommodating and even provided a shuttle back to the trailhead. Very nice guy. I would most definitely recommend this to others.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jdoo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Great Barrington is a small nice town in the middle of nowhere and motel is actually far from town centre (ie not walking distance). Rooms are simple, clean but definitely expensive for its worth. Service is nice and friendly, wifi works well. I am rating such a low value because of the price paid.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FroggyCritics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

40 empty rooms and the proprietor puts us all next to one another. Loud French kids decide to put on a show Sunday morning.

Rooms have an odd smell - can't place it. Insecticide? Cleanser ? Dinner?

The place will do in a pinch , but I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.0 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
677 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.2 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Motel

Property: Mountain View Motel
Address: 304 State Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1461
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Great Barrington
#5 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mountain View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mountain View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain View Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing