We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliness keeps bring us back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2010

We have been staying here for a long weekend at least once a year for many years. The host is very friendly and helpful, Our trip this year was put "up in the air" due to the uncertainty about how severely Hurricane Earl would effect our coastal home, but the host/ manger resolved everything in a most pleasant manner. Rooms here are ALWAYS very clean and well kept. Lantern House has really become our "second home" when attending events at nearby Lime Rock Park, Both couples and families would be happy staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muscoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 381 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2010

Had to make an unscheduled "family business" trip to MA from FL that was anything but leisure. The warmth I received from Hasu (owner) when I arrived set the atmosphere for the duration of my stay at The Lantern House. The room was the cleanest I have ever experienced on the road. The proximity to whatever you might need is in either direction from the motel but the motel is nestled from enough back from the road that I didn't hear any traffic noise during the night with the room windows open.

I will stay there on all of my future trips to the area and would highly recommend to get the value of what your money can buy by staying there.

Bob

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbalestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This small motel is a very nice find in the Berkshires, especially since it gives value during the busy Tanglewood season. We took two rooms - one for our adult daughter, the other for my husband and myself. The rooms were meticulously clean, the beds comfortable, the salt water pool inviting, and the owner accommodating and friendly. It's located conveniently enough to walk to places like nearby Friendly's, yet set back enough so that the traffic doesn't disturb. It's a few minutes ride to Tanglewood but worth it. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMahjongg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Very pleasant rooms - well decorated and inviting. The host was very charming and helpful. I would definitely recommend this to my friends as it is value for money. The salt water swimming pool is beatifully kept and a treat to swim in.

Andy and Linda, Hamilton, New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crianlarich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The room was large, clean, super comfortable.

Just be aware not to leave anything behind you, because, as the owner said
"it goes straight to the trash"

I hope they will change this policy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sugarlipskisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My mother-in-law and I were on one of our Tanglewood getaways and I chose this hotel based on prior reviews and price. We stayed only one night and were pleased with the accommodations. The room was a nice size, neat and clean. The owner was very eager to please and recommended a good place for breakfast (Martin's). We did not have the continental breakfast or swim in the saltwater pool. Good location off the road at a good price. If you grew up staying at mom and pop motels when vacationing as a kid, this will be a nostalgic place for you.

The only issue I had, which was minor, was there was a smell of bleach which I found a bit strong. Not sure if it was from the towels or the bathroom cleaning.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanillaBrookline_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I planned to be in the Great Barrington massachusetts area for vacation. i booked 2 nights in the Lantern House Motel. 3 days before going on vacation, my daughter developed a tooth problem and it had to be taken care of right before we were to leave, and she was probably going to be in pain. We had to cancel our stay at the hotel. Masu, the owner, was nice enough to offer that "if he books the room " before the weekend, he will not bill me for the rooms. He kept his promise, re-booked the rooms, and did not charge me for the 2 nights. Thank you Hasu. See you soon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Thank scottog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
688 reviews
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
185 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,048 reviews
14.0 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: $76 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing