We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“More than we expected!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I have stayed in various hotels and motels in this area and were so pleased with the value of this motel!
First of all, the owner is very attentive and responsive. He promised a clean and comfortable stay and definitely delivered. Very clean room with brand new comfortable beds, nice sheets and new rugs. A great breakfast room,(a la carte) well stocked, and coffee was very good. (And I love Coffee)
The property has very nice pool outback and little play area that kept my 2 nephews busy for an afternoon.
The motel is very close to town, restaurants, hiking, biking trails..really reasonable rate!!!
We'll be back.

Room Tip: Any room is fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    113
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
122
115
37
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keyport, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

As a cycling enthusiast, I really wanted to go to GB to ride on some of the roads and experience the town, as I heard a lot of great things about GB. I looked to TripAdvisor to see which hotel would best suit me, so I chose The Green Lantern. At first, I was skeptical as some of the other hotels in the area were really pricey. However, I was totally shocked and amazed at the price and the hospitality offered by the hotel manager. The manager even let me bring my bike into my hotel room!

A couple of other notes: the hotel is located down the block from a really cool bike shop. Additionally, the hotel is on a flat road so you can warm up accordingly for a bike ride (don't worry, there are plenty of hills that you will encounter in the area ;)). It is also equidistant from the GB town center and a nearby state park (both 1.5 miles away respectively). There are plenty of high quality restaurants in the area (or if you prefer something traditional, there is a McDonalds and a Subway store down the block). I should add that there is a really cool donut shop next door to the hotel (mmm....donuts). To note: there is a continental breakfast that is offered at this hotel.

In short, this hotel stay was really awesome and I will most definitely visit the area and the hotel again. For anyone that wants to do the Great Barrington bike ride on 8/16/14, I would strongly suggest staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslater2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I stayed a night here in Aug 2013 while hiking the AT. They welcomed hikers and offered clean, well maintained rooms at a fair price. Friendly staff and a good nights sleep. Can't as for anything more. Jeff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stay here about 2 times a year. This year we were greeted by renovated rooms with great new carpeting. I didn't even think the old carpet needed replacing !
The Lantern House Staff is always extremely helpful and accomodating.
Wouldn't stay anywhere else on our visits to Great Barrington.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent one night in this motel. Everything we needed was there, the motel is very clean and the owner is helpful and kind. Bathroom was good, shower was great and it also had a tub but we didn't use that one. It also has a salt water pool but we did not use that one either because we had too little time. The room also had at a television and breakfast was included.Thanks for a great stay, kind regards from Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willemvanwalsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Schodack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed one night and the rooms (we booked 5 rooms total) were spotless. Very comfortable beds. Very pleasant, helpful owners. Wish we had more time to stay and enjoy the pool because it looked so inviting.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halvio1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The owner is on site and provides all that you request. Beautiful pool area... No chlorine... a salt pool.
We will return to the Lantern again. Within one mile you can choose from 20 restaurants and many shops.
There is the Mahaiwe theatre nearby and the triplex movie house. Main street of Great Barrington is around the corner.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 9 in Great Barrington
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
2.3 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Property: Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing