We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Diamond In The Rough"--Mary and Brian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Spent a spontaneous weekend in the Berkshires, first fall getaway. After looking for a place to stay, we checked out the Lantern House and ended up finding our new "go to" place to stay. The owner was extremely cordial and accommodating, showing us the room choices, along with amenities...Chose the one with a jacuzzi and king size bed, which was very comfortable and clean. We could not have been happier, and knew how fortunate we were to find our way there. Plan on returning again in November. This is the way every place should be run and kept...Our first visit, yet felt like we'd been coming here for years. Great job!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 391 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Learned of Lantern House through friends. Stayed four nights here in August and was very pleased. Room was clean, well appointed and had everything I needed. Comfortable and quiet. Excellent bath and shower. Very convenient continental breakfast room (next door to mine!). Innkeeper most helpful. Best rate in town, too. Have stayed numerous times in town and found this to be a very competitive value. Would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Clean & comfortable. On a business stay, we took a smaller room but the facilities were quite adequate for the cost. An excellent location, convenient to shopping, restaurants and the refrigerator in the room was clean as was the entire facility. In addition, the quiet at night was very welcome

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed at the Lantern House for a few nights in July with our family. Very clean room with excellent shower and comfortable beds. The large pool was a plus and we spent the afternoon lounging by it. Great value in a beautiful area. Will certainly return!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be about the same size with different configurations of beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobKaren6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed four nights in late August-start September, 2013. Owner is very accomodating and helpful. He has done a remarkable job of remodeling, refurbishing an older motel. Very clean, excellent bed and bath room facilities. Outstanding shower. Very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. It's convenient to all, and very clean. The owner was very accomodating.
The decor is dated, with wood panelling on the walls... at least in our room , that was the case. The furniture was dated . The room was quite large with a table and chairs, and two double beds , refridg, and microwave. They don't have many items as far as toiletries go, just some soap and shampoo. The room has airconditioning in a wall unit.
They do serve a breakfast in one of the motel rooms, but I did not see any juice or fruit all the days that we were there. It could be that they ran out, I don't know. Basically, just cereal or bagels, and coffee. The good thing is that right next door there is a place that you can get egg sandwiches if you like....we liked!
Also, you cannot eat in the room where the breakfast is served, you would need to eat it in your room or outside.
There's no real complaint about this place, but there's no raves as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redheadLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Lantern House is a great surprise. The owners take tremendous pride in their property and it is beautifully maintained. Don't be put off by the knotty pine motif. While not very stylish, everything is in perfect condition and extremely clean. Great bed and linens too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bladvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
319 reviews
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#5 of 16 in Lenox
589 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monument Mountain Motel
Monument Mountain Motel
#5 of 10 in Great Barrington
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: $66 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing