We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stranded and this gentleman/hotel-keeper was very accommodating!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stranded and this gentleman/hotel-keeper was very accommodating!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Car broke down in GB and needed a last minute stay. Clean, well-kept, and rustic rooms made for a nice visit. Staff went out of their way to make positive experience unlike most hotels. Highly recommend

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rkiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    111
    15
    5
    9
See reviews for
120
110
35
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Booked a room last minute based on Tripadvisor reviews, and was pleasantly surprised. Good location, room larger than typical Holiday Inn/Comfort Inn, very clean, fridge/microwave/TV a little older but all perfectly functional, great water pressure in shower. Only negative (not a big deal...just mentioning it for sake of being impartial) is that walls are thin so clearly heard neighbor's commotion, but that's probably not any different from most hotels. Thanks Hasu. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank l z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Scituate, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Lantern House Motel several times now and each time experienced great customer service. Hasu is very friendly and wants to make sure your stay is above satisfactory. The rooms are very clean and hospitality is number 1. We will definitely go back and look forward to the wonderful, friendly reception we get from Hasu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We are season pass holders at Ski Butternut and stayed at the Lantern House after a day of skiing. Hasu, the owner, is extremely helpful and accommodating. The rooms have a rustic wood paneled decor and the nice thing is they are larger than the typical chain motel like Comfort or Days Inn. We are a family of four and have a lot of gear (skiing). It was nice to have a little room to spread out and even have a small table in the room to sit at instead of the bed. The bathroom was extremely clean and had a nice shower with good water pressure and tons of hot water....must have after a full day skiing.

Another nice thing is the location of the hotel. Right nearby is the Price Chopper and a little shopping center. The M\Lantern is walking distance from a number of restaurants. We had breakfast at Home Sweet Home Donut shop which is adjacent to the Lantern House Motel. The staff there was awesome as was the food.

We'll be back to the Lantern House next week.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room @ and it was nice. We'll update as we use other rooms in the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stngr17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynard, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The rooms are clean, clean, clean. The owners are very personable and helpful. I stay there every 2 weeks or so when I am in the area and it is great to be welcomed by friendly faces who are proud of their property! Great value!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The rooms are clean and Hasu the owner is very friendly and accommodating. We needed to go to Butternut ski area in the morning and it was very close to the mountain. The decor is rustic but clean. The price is reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevetama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at the Lantern House between Christmas and New Years at an incredibly reasonable rate! Less than the big chain hotels in the area and better. We arrived late and Hasu, the owner greeted us, offered us an upgrade but did not try to "sell" us on it. He takes alot of pride in his work and in his property and it shows. The room we booked is what we stuck with. It was very clean, cozy and comfortable. It was freshly painted with new curtains, a microwave, refrigerator and a continental breakfast each morning. Having a bad back I must say that the bed was very comfortable too. Close to restaurants, bars and shopping! When we stay in Great Barrington, we will stay at the Lantern House!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather41721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
9.0 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Property: Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing