We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of the berkshires”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after hurricane sandy hit here . We live here in the berkshires so we really never had to check out our hotels here. This motel is just down the street from our car lot , so down i went and introduced my self and minutes later we had a great , clean very comfortable room ! Wi - Fi fridge ,microwave , just what the doctor ordered . Clean ,safe and very reasonable rates . Check it out , no dissapointments here .

Room Tip: Family rooms and suites available also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank captainbrian83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 388 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

What a pleasant night we had staying at Lantern House Motel in Great Barrington,Mass on our road trip in search of Peak Autumn Foliage thru the Berkshires, we pulled into the small roadside motel that look pretty clean and well kept on the outside, even thou we were not expecting much. We were surprised on how the room was clean and smelled nice and new. After a few years of remodeling the place, Hasu Patel (owner) did himself proud and his updating brings a new fresh life to his place and the town.
We enjoyed a nice large room, a comfortable large bed, hot water, there was a Mini frig, Micro, table and chairs. In the cold wet morning we got Hot coffee, Small breakfast selection and there was an Ice Machine. Our room heater work well. We were able to park our car right outside our door.
Since its mid Oct, cooler weather has already set in, a pleasant 67's, we could not try out the Salt water pool.
I would recommend Hasu to put in a wide bowed (arched) shower curtain bar to allow more shoulder space. Walls were thin and could hear the next rooms TV. Paint interior a lighter color.
I recommend anyone on a budget or just pasting thru, that likes cleanliness to stay at Lantern House Motel.

Room Tip: We stayed comfortable to the left of the center. Not much noise but the rare semi truck passing thru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Playsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We were almost out of luck finding a motel during the height of "leaf peeking" until getting a recommendation from the Chamber of Commerce reservation service. A cancellation had just been posted by the Lantern House, and we were extremely lucky to get the last room.
What wonderful luck indeed! The room was spotless, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the establishment owner was ever so charming. Hasu (the proprietor) was so intent to make certain we were comfortable and content. You don't find that sort of personal service from a major chain!
He is so proud of all the improvements he's made to the establishment, and rightly so. Extremely well priced for the quality and service.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphoenix52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very nice and cheap motel. The service is good and the rooms are big and clean. Breakfast is included and is very good! The best price we found in Great Barrington. We highly recommend this place to other travellers who are looking for a cheap motel with a good standard. We'd be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrinebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The lady at the front desk didn't even know how to use the credit card machine. The salt water pool was filthy. Went to get ice @ 9:30 PM and the room was closed. Went to get coffee and continental breakfast @ 7:30 AM and the room was closed. The room itself was poorly lit and damp.

Room Tip: Almost every hotel in the area looked better than this place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nucky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Hasu is a great host. He is honest in his suggestions an makes sure that his guests are happy and contented. This is the only motel (even a hotel) which I know of have cleaning services inside out every day. Sheets are changed once every three days. Owner and his family works tirelessly with his staff to ensure this motel property stays clean and its reputation stays high.

This was our first trip to US. Hasu's motel and the quiet great Barrington city made our stay pleasant and wanting to come back again. You couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with a central location and reasonable price than Lantern House Motel. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irshad_Osman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and pleasant, with wood paneled walls. It's a throwback to the fifties, and a good value at a location right outside of Great Barrington's pleasant and extensive downtown. For the money, I think it can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
8.9 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
14.1 mi away
Yankee Inn
Yankee Inn
#6 of 16 in Lenox
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
702 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
24.8 mi away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lantern House Motel Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern House Motel Great Barrington

Address: 256 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1269
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#1 Best Value Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: $66 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lantern House Motel Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're just minutes away from Tanglewood and summer playhouses. There are historical sites, museums, beautiful scenery, and the Berkshires' own special blend of antiques and country shops. If it's the outdoors you like, there is canoeing, biking or hiking trails. The winter season provides you an abundance of cross-country and downhill skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Lantern House Motel Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Lantern Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing