We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice surprise”

Cafe Adam Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A chef owned destination restaurant featuring local ingrdient driven cuisine. Award winning wine list, full bar, outdoor seating, special events, and large parties can be accomodated. Menu features homemade pasta, raw oysters, extensive native wild fish dishes, house smoked salmon, and in-house pastry chef. The restaurant is owned by Berkshire Native Chef Adam Zieminski and was established in 2006. In it's new location there multiple dining rooms and an open kitchen. We suggest reservations for both brunch and dinner.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

We spontaneously decided to eat here, based on a recommendation by the staff at the Fairfield Inn. Although we didn't have reservations, our wait was not long. Cafe Adam was very rustic, and the air conditioning seemed to be having challenges, but the service was excellent, and the food a nice surprise, very well presented and eclectic in selection. It has an attractive bar which also serves a full menu. We would return here.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    61
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Pretentious and Expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Where do I start? This is a very expensive restaurant where everything is prepped in advance and nothing is cooked to order. It has a limited menu in the first place and many of the entrees were not appealing as they were constructed on the menu. The service was perfunctory and our waitperson could have cared less about our enjoyment. We asked for bread and butter. Bread was served but no butter. We had to ask for it. When it was served, there was one pat of butter sitting on a stone. What an affectation! We asked for enough butter for the entire table--there were four of us---and they reluctantly brought three more stones. But al least now all four of us had out very own pat of butter. The food could not be enjoyed under these circumstances. Save your money and try something where the experience will be more memorable for the right reasons. Cafe Adam is a pretender and they'll clean out your wallet. They are phoning it in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TastyBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent, very different.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Had Sunday brunch which was excellent. Food appears to be locally sourced. Choices are varied and very interesting. If you're looking for the usual run-of-the-mill menu, this is not the restaurant for you. Although I did have their burger and fries at a later date that was also great. Beef was local organic, fries were hand-cut and the ketchup was homemade and delicious. The service was also very good. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My cousin and his wife were coming into town. I would have been happy to cook for them, but they suggested, that since they were vegan, it would be easier to eat out. I chose Cafe Adam for a couple of reasons. I've been there before and have been extremely pleased. I knew they had a lot of vegan options, and I happen to know the mother of the owner/chef so I knew this was a great choice. Our service was attentive but not too in our face. The food was delicious and my cousins were very pleased and impressed. There are only a couple of really, really outstanding restaurants in our area and Cafe Adam is at the top of the list.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not like what it used to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We discovered Cafe Adams several years ago, liked their funky website, edgy decors, interesting locally sourced menu with great "punch" of flavors and "out-of-box" wine and beer selections in a nondescript strip mall. We always had take-out of the home-cured salmon packed for our 2-hour trip home. Now that it has gone "up-scaled" to a larger nicely decorated space in another nondescript location since last year. The food, although is more "refined" with larger portion size for perceived value and "main-streamed" menu for more general audience. For example, the Tuna Bento Box is filled with other distracting, however "tasty" sides, such as summer spring rolls, and crab fritter, you can't properly taste the main attraction of tuna although seared nicely. The broiled organic tofu is nicely done, however, a bit heavy handed with the sauce and veggies. We understand that the limited season in the Berkshires to generate revenue. The restaurant is packed in late July. However, we really missed the beautiful Berkshire Pork Belly cooked two ways in the fall menu and other creative dishes that no longer offered.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Adam Restaurant also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Cafe Adam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing