We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Ice Cream” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SoCo Creamery

SoCo Creamery
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Believe it or not, but I am not an ice cream person. I eat it maybe once a year, so needless to say, I don't really like it. However, Soco Creamery's ice cream is fantastic. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting or living in the Berkshires. It is worth the trip and the people and atmosphere are great fun. Lots of flavors and choices. Have fun!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank CBR198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    47
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Get ready to spend some money for less than average ice cream...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

Save yourself some cash and go to friendlys just down the road or better yet hit up mcdonalds fir dollar sundaes!
My husband loves the pumpkin ice cream so we go there once a year in the fall. They are stingy with the sprinkles and it really isn't that good.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spring2life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local, fresh ice cream - not worth the price or a drive to get there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

The ice cream our family enjoyed was fresh and enjoyable; however it wasn't great. I'm a big fan of local establishments and natural products, but an ice cream at Friendly's would have tasted just as good for a lower price.
The location is fun on "the main strip" in GB, but we're not going back.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KFitz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
240 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Liked it a lot, didn't love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Really interesting flavors and toppings. A funky setting with a small but nice area to sit. And you're in the middle of Great Barrington where it's fun and interesting to wander around. I'm sure this is the best ice cream for miles around, and how can you complain about a tasty cone on a summer night?

  • Visited July 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wellheeledboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
318 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best dark chocolate ice cream--in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Having tested full cream ice creams in Ecuador (wonderful), Paraguay, Mexico, Peru, Curacao, Europe, Canada, well--you name it. Even in Switzerland. I have had some nice chocolates, but nothing--absolutely nothing matched the dark chocolate at Soco. THE BEST EVER>

Helpful?
Thank Maggie_Oakshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SoCo Creamery also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to SoCo Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing