We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windflower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windflower Inn
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Particularly after an awful recent experience at the Rogue's Harbor Inn, near Ithica, I'm very happy to report that Windflower is exactly what a b&b should be.

The Inn and grounds are beautiful, and the living rooms and porch are comfortable and well-stocked with books and magazines; the room is quite pretty and comfortable; the breakfast was simple, but generous and perfectly done; and the innkeepers and staff (especially Annie of the mismatched Crocs) are particularly welcoming and accommodating.

A wonderful bonus is that we stayed during the Falcon Ridge Festival, and most of the other guests were Festgoers as well, making the Inn an extension of the Fest.

I truly can't rave enough about Windflower, and have already booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    20
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
58
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Countryside in Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a very nicer inn, with friendly staff, nice common areas, and delicious breakfasts. It is very well situated in Great Barrington. Though I was in town to see a music festival and didn't have time to use the pool, it looked very inviting. I would love to return to this inn!

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambler052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I found a room for 3 nights very late so we could attend a festival. We loved the Inn - very roomy and comfortable. Three different breakfasts - all excellent. Special orders were pleasantly met. Met and discussed the festival with other attendees at breakfast and made new friends. 3 miles south of Great Barrington and all raved of the different restaurant experiences. "try this one next year". We hope to go back. Claudia took us on a tour of the rooms that had no guests, and all were nice as well as individual. We also enjoyed Stella, the loving dog who has free roam. Saw the pool, but no time to use. Liked the back patio for reading and talking.

Room Tip: Each room has its own character. Suggest e-mailing for descriptions if pictures do not do. Rooms 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We've been returning to the Windflower Inn for several years, for cycling weekends in the Berkshires. The innkeepers, Claudia and John, are very accommodating and welcome cyclists, allowing us to store our bikes in the garage. The Inn itself is very spacious, with plenty of sitting areas inside and outside. The small pool in the back is perfect for a refreshing post-ride dip, with towels provided and lounge chairs along one side. There are plenty of room choices; we've always found our rooms spacious, clean and well supplied, the beds very comfortable. In the morning, breakfast includes fresh fruit, cereals, bread, coffee/tea, and one "hot breakfast" option which varies each day (e.g., french toast, pancakes, eggs any style, etc.). In the late afternoon, cookies and a cold beverage (e.g., iced tea) are put out as a snack. The Inn is very well located, on a main road but not one that's too busy. For cycling, there are lots of wonderful rides one can do that start/end at the Inn. The Inn is just a few miles from Great Barrington, which offers plenty of dining and shopping options. And then there's Tanglewood about 12 miles away to the north. All things considered, we've been very satisfied with our stays and will continue to be regular visitors.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

the hosts are very accommodating. wonderful porches too sit and read or paint. Lots of common space for gathering or for early risers. Stella the dog is a terrific greeter. Lots of bird watching in the gardens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My wife and I were fortunate to find the Windflower Inn while spending a night in the Berkshires. The inn itself is beautiful and only made better by the warm and attentive innkeepers. We look forward to returning for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WESTBOROUGH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our stays at the Windflower have been fantastic! My wife and I have stayed here with our two children and my parents a few times now. Each night John and Claudia light a fire in their beautiful fireplace and we sit around and chat while the children are entertained in the adjacent room that they have set up with board games and a TV. They always make us feel very much at home and are very easy to get to know. In the morning they make a wonderful breakfast with fresh local eggs ( you can really tell the difference) and they are very accommodating to my wife's gluten free needs. Not just making things that are gluten free...but that are really delicious! Our rooms have always been very spacious,clean, well decorated and reasonably priced.
Given all of this plus being in a great location for skiing, multiple great restaurants, shopping, hiking and proximity to Tanglewood........ it is hard to find anything bad to say about this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.2 mi away
Thornewood Inn
Thornewood Inn
#5 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windflower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windflower Inn

Property: Windflower Inn
Address: 684 S Egremont Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windflower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windflower Inn Bed and Breakfast is one of the longest established family operated and owned Inns in the Berkshires, with elegant yet warm and informal atmosphere. Our guests enjoy charming, relaxing, antique-filled, country accommodations. The Windflower Inn is situated on ten acres located in the heart of the beautiful Berkshires area of Southwestern Massachusetts. We accept children of all ages making us the ideal family-friendly alternative to the chain hotels. Our beautiful grounds also include an outdoor pool for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Windflower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windflower Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing