We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This flower's been windblown a long time ago”
Review of Windflower Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Windflower Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This flower's been windblown a long time ago”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Contrary to the pictures on the website, the reality of the inn is quite different. Charming on the outside (from a distance) and tired-looking on the inside. The place is well kept but definitely needs major upgrades. It has also been for sale for over a year, which indicates the owners are not ready to sink more money into upgrading it and it shows. I think minimal upkeep is the motto of the Windflower Inn. Bathrooms were a bit musty and dated. Furniture is old and in dire need of rejuvenation. For the amount of money you pay, it's definitely not worth what you get.

Breakfasts are not flexible (each day is a different meal like it or not) and the owner's wife is probably the least accommodating host in the Berkshires and is downright rude at times, feeling you unwelcome although you are paying hand over fist for a night's stay. Her husband is nice and charming but you hardly see him at all, to the detriment of the guests. And don't expect special discounts for faithful customers or returning ones, there are none! Unless there are no other inns available in the area, you can certainly have a more pleasant stay elsewhere.
Warning : If you're into wallpaper you will be in heaven in this inn. Unfortunately the choice of decor could be debated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Accelerated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    20
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The Berkshires are incredibly charming and warm, and unfortunately that is not totally reflected in this Inn. The owner-cook was not the enthusiastic accommodating inn keeper you often find in other Inns. Her husband was, but we didn't see him much. The rooms seem more old than rustic, and for the price there are many other choices. We discovered the Inn was for sale, and it seems that after decades of successful innkeeping, the owners are more than ready to retire.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvinijvini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We had a great stay even if only for one night and would like to go back in June 2012. Claudia was a most gracious host. She prepared a wonderful breakfast and right on time as requested. The room was outstanding-decor, size and cleanliness. Highly recommended like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Rear of B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Windflower Inn exceeded my expectations. The room I shared w/ a friend was large and well appointed w/ antique style furniture in keeping with the charming character of the Inn. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. As a matter of fact, all of the common rooms were nicely furnished and comfortable. There are 2 porches, one is enclosed the other open both overlooking lovely grounds and some gorgeous evergreen fir trees. The breakfasts were quite good and filling. The Inn is a couple of miles out of Great Barrington so a car or bike is needed to get to Gt. Barrington. The owners of Windflower Inn are friendly and very welcoming. I would recommend this inn.

Room Tip: My room was in the back of the house which helped to dampen the noise .from the road traffic. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kao42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

One of the finest B&B's I've stayed in. Claudia and John are very hospitable. They make you feel like a guest in their home. I have gluten allergies and Claudia provided special GF treats! The breakfast was excellent and ample, especially for a group of cyclists who need fuel prior to a big ride.

This is our second visit and we will make the trip to the Berkshires and Windflower Inn again.

Room Tip: The guest rooms are varied and all quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I wanted to get out of the city, and see a concert in Great Barrington. I have loved the area since I was a child, and really wanted to find and old fashioned B & B. Windflower was just as I hoped it would be, and more. The rooms were lovely, and in great condition. The whole facility was beautiful and welcoming...from the grounds to the two living rooms downstairs. there was even a beautiful old piano there! Breakfast incuded eggs from a neighboring farm, and the other guests were delightful. There was however, plenty of room there if we wanted to eat alone. The owners were very welcoming and helpful. I wish I could just move in...so I guess that means I will be coming back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at The WIndflower Inn. We were happily surprised to be upgraded to a larger room upon our arrival. The room was spacious and clean, but it was in the front of the house, facing the road, which made it very noisy with cars and trucks whizzing by day and night. We like to sleep with our windows open on cool summer nights. It was a bit difficult with all that noise!
The breakfasts were good. Loved the fresh fruit salad every morning. I'm a tea drinker, and although I had to ask for tea every morning with breakfast, (only coffee is out on the sideboard), they remembered the kind I like!
The furnishings in the common rooms are perfect for a 200+ year old inn! The grounds are very nice. The Inn is in a great location. Although we were hoping to be able to walk to town, it was a very short drive. The road is just too busy to walk on.
The hiking in the area is fantastic, and we never had to drive too far to the trails we had planned to hike.
We never did see tea and cookies in the afternoon, however, and we were always very thirsty when we returned. We thought that maybe we came in too late to take advantage of that mid-afternoon snack.
All in all, I'd say this is a very nice place to stay. Next time, however, we will request a room in the rear of the house!!!

Room Tip: Request a room in the rear of the house, especially if you like to sleep with the windows open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArleneB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
277 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
994 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#3 of 12 in Great Barrington
184 reviews
6.4 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
448 reviews
5.2 mi away
Thornewood Inn
Thornewood Inn
#5 of 12 in Great Barrington
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windflower Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windflower Inn

Property: Windflower Inn
Address: 684 S Egremont Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1932
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windflower Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windflower Inn Bed and Breakfast is one of the longest established family operated and owned Inns in the Berkshires, with elegant yet warm and informal atmosphere. Our guests enjoy charming, relaxing, antique-filled, country accommodations. The Windflower Inn is situated on ten acres located in the heart of the beautiful Berkshires area of Southwestern Massachusetts. We accept children of all ages making us the ideal family-friendly alternative to the chain hotels. Our beautiful grounds also include an outdoor pool for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Windflower Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windflower Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing