We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible hospitality and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Sweet Water Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 1, 2011

My husband birthday was coming, significant one! But the calendar indicates it is on Monday. My racing thoughts calm down with realization that Monday, an actual birthday, could be a grand final of long weekend celebration. Logical continuation of idea is Linda! The matter of fact, Inn at Sweet Water Farm in North Egremont became our favorite escape over the last few years, for summer vacation for concert at Tanglewood, family reunion, New Year celebration and, finally, birthday.
We were cautious to visit Inn at Sweet Water Farm – country style is not our favorite. But this place was very different: walls full of books, good selection of music, incredible linen and beds, each room is individual and personal, not mention the breakfast with fresh baking goods every morning. We fall in love with the place at once and forever.
During these years we come to the Inn with different couples and groups of friends, but with the same response: love it!
My husband birthday was a great success. From skiing or walking around in the morning, to attending museums, we return to our warm residence: fireplace (real firewood and working great); and homey hospitality of Linda and Andrey. Sunday night Linda prepared celebration dinner. It was incredible! All 12 of us, from New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts and Florida, had wonderful time. And when we were saying goodbye, the question hangs on the air – next New Year celebration at Linda’s place?
Dr. Ellen Shulman, Lic. Mas. Ac

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTsivinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2011

My husband and I spent the night there last weekend, and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was quaint, had lovely furnishings, and was the perfect retreat. Our hosts were very friendly and knowledgable about the area. Breakfast was outstanding. We look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fph60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband and I spent one night at the Inn at Sweet Water Farm after hiking nearby in early November. The rooms are attractive and clean, with the crisp linens promised. The water truly is delicious! The service was attentive, the others guests friendly and the breakfast delicious. We enjoyed a wonderful meal at John Andrew's just down the road as well. This is not a fancy place, just simple, clean and friendly. The only thing that was a disappointment to us was the fact that this inn is not in the country, but rather surrounded by other homes so you get the feeling of being in a neighborhood, which felt a bit odd for an inn in the Berkshires. Other than that this is a place I would recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatrinaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Andrei and Lynda, who are the owners of the Inn, have created the perfect balance in paying attention to detail of a luxury hotel and the comfort and warmth of a home. The breakfasts were to die for with fresh eggs from the chickens in the garden, home made delicious jam, sausage and much more.
In the cold November nights we spent there the flaming fire was awaiting us at the end of our vigorous hiking day with great conversation and digestifs.
The location of the inn was also convenient for walking, hiking, movies or excellent local restaurants.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denizdalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2010

The Inn at Sweet Water Farm is a great place to go to get away from your every day life. It is also the place where you will eat the delicious breakfast you wish you could make yourself every morning. This was my second stay at the Inn and it was just as memorable as the first. I will definitely make the Inn at Sweet Water Farm my home in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcgowan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We arrived at the inn after a wonderful picturesque drive. It was a typical fall New England morning, crisp but comfortable. The innkeeper Lynda made us feel like family with a warm and friendly smile upon arrival. She quickly made us feel at home with coffee and morning pastries(home made) which would make the finest 5 star hotels envious.
Lynda showed us to our room which was immaculate and very cozy. The room had a bear claw tub which added to the ambiance and comfort we experienced. Lynda spoke of the locale; restaurants, museum's, farms and chocolates!!
We made a trip to Body and Soul Spa for massages, very relaxing. We ventured into downtown Great Barrington which had the amenities of a big city but had a country feel, which is exactly what we needed. We enjoyed a nice dinner and returned to our room.
After an amazing night sleep, we awoke to the smell of fruits, pastries and coffee permeating throughout the inn. We headed downstairs for breakfast. There was approximately 7-10 choices, all sounding very yummy. We settled on an omelet w/local ramps, goat cheese and ham, poached eggs with the best sausage we ever ate, Andrei's special recipe. Wow is all we can say!!
Overall it had everything we were looking for; it was romantic, had great food and was incredibly relaxing. Thank you Lynda and Andrei we look forward to seeing you both again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muttenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

This place deserves all the accolades. Great breakfasts, Linda's passion shines through. Excellent example of hospitality making a stay here memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonRockdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
12.6 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
12.5 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
579 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sweet Water Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sweet Water Farm

Address: 1 Prospect Lake Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-9003
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: $145 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Sweet Water Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Bed & Breakfast providing respite from the hectic schedules of every day life. Relax here in nature and let us take care of you. Delight your tastebuds with our off menu breakfasts with eggs from our hens, and other organic, locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy everything the Berkshires has to offer, from hikes and swimming to 5 star dining and musical performances at Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Sweet Water Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing