We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Water Farm Is the Quintessential B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn at Sweet Water Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 9, 2009

My wife and I spent 2 nights at The Sweet Water Farm B & B with 3 other couples and had an absolutely fabulous experience. Linda and Andre operate an efficient and well-run operation, but make it look effortless as they attend to their guests' every need. Linda's gourmet breakfasts are "to die for" with homemade croissants, scones, and pies along with mouth-watering omelets. Linda and Andre even prepared and served a five star dinner for our group.

Their attention to detail made every aspect of our stay at Sweet Water comfortable and cozy. Linda and Andre's superior hospitality was definitely a contributing factor to our group's bonding. The Inn At Sweet Water Farm is a perfect destination for a couple to spend a quiet weekend away from the city (and the kids) or a multi-couple fun-filled Berkshire get-away. It's central location made it easy to have fun the entire weekend.

We loved it and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwarhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2009

We've been to the Berkshires several times and have always stayed in different spots. This is our absolute favorite. It has: Clean rooms with both charm and modern conveniences; a varied breakfast menu showcasing local produce (the eggs come from Andre's hen house); and best of all, friendly, knowledgeable, helpful hosts Linda and Andre.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fargonewjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

We would highly recommend this B&B to anyone visiting the southern Berkshires. The innkeepers were wonderfully hospitable and we looked forward to breakfast each day. Also close to local ski areas, which occupied us for the two snowy days we were there. A great find.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Lynda and Andrei's warm hospitality, the charming, historic inn, the picturesque surroundings, and the hearty breakfasts (all local ingredients) blended together for a perfect weekend. The Inn at Sweet Water Farm is both just removed enough from and reasonably accessible to Great Barrington. Neighborhood walks offer glimpses of homesteads, sunsets, and small farms. Inside, the accommodations are comfortable and homey. Books scattered about make a guest want to sink into the couch before the fireplace for an afternoon read; good conversation with the innkeepers make the breakfast hours even more enjoyable; sunlit-filled bedrooms offer yet another respite for weary bones after an afternoon hike at any of a number of local state parks.

Overall, a great find that we will definitely return to again as soon as possible for a weekend getaway.

-Dan and Erin

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sopachuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

I come here at least once a year, with friends to celebrate special occasions, by myself when I want to escape and recharge. The land of sweet water (truly -- better than any snooty french mineral water -- bring your own containers to take some home) and homemade bread is a better soul cure than the land of milk and honey.

From Andrei and Lynda's gracious (but never intrusive) hospitality with a laid back vibe, to the hand ironed, line dried sheets, and especially to the food that you fantasize your grandmother knew how to cook....Andrei's homemade sausages will make you swoon, Lynda's fantabulous breakfast spreads that are farm to table, from local farmers will make you want to never go home again.

If you're lucky you'll learn how to make marmalade, the secrets to anti-food snob coffee, and how to poach an egg without having a nervous breakdown. And this is only what I learned from my last visit!

I've come here with a gaggle of friends, taken over the inn and had Lynda cook the perfect meal for the occasion -- be it for a kid's birthday (think homemade birthday cake that will absolve years of guilt from store bought supermarket birthday cakes) or for an adult week-end with sophisticated food, all farm fresh and cooked with love.

Did I forget to mention how amazing the food is?

Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
Thank sausagehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This is a lovingly run, beautiful Inn with the best of everything in terms of local products and food, best of design and outstanding food. The proprietors make you feel like family but give you the space for your intimate retreat at the same time. The perfect getaway,

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spencerkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

This was the coziest weekend away from home. The best part about it was the warmth created by Lynda and Andrei, the lovely owners. The intimacy of the breakfast room allowed us to enjoy the delicious, seasonal foods that Lynda cooked, and speak with her and the other guests. They are so open about sharing their home, which is the Inn, with their guests. I got to peak over Lynda's shoulder in the kitchen, to see her preparing some delicious pecan pancakes. The bedrooms were nice and cozy, but I preferred to spend my time in the living room or the dining room. They have so many books, mostly about food and cooking, to peruse. Princess, there cat, cuddled me as if I knew her for a long time. Let's just say I felt extremely welcome and comfortable. It was great.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cozyvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
12.6 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
176 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
187 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hampton Terrace Bed and Breakfast Inn
3.9 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sweet Water Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sweet Water Farm

Address: 1 Prospect Lake Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-9003
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: $145 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Sweet Water Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Bed & Breakfast providing respite from the hectic schedules of every day life. Relax here in nature and let us take care of you. Delight your tastebuds with our off menu breakfasts with eggs from our hens, and other organic, locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy everything the Berkshires has to offer, from hikes and swimming to 5 star dining and musical performances at Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Sweet Water Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing