We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Inn at Sweet Water Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I spent time travelling around NYC, upstate NY and the Berkshires in August 2013, and this was our absolute favourite place that we stayed. Andrei and Lynda are so hospitable and welcoming. It is a home away from home. Lynda's breakfasts are out of this world. Locally, there are some great spots to visit and loads of great restaurants and eateries. Great Barrington is small and perfectly formed, and the area surrounding the Inn is beautiful. We had the BEST time and would like to thank Lynda and Andrei for such memorable, wonderful hospitality.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 236 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife and I love the Berkshires. We have stayed at may places over the years. This has been our favorite. Andrei and Lynda were great hosts - from awesome food, to sharing a cordial one evening , after we returned to the inn. Lynda prepared a great breakfast made from local ingredients. She was happy to recommend restaurants as well as off the beaten path farms to purchase food and gifts. We felt at home and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lynda and Andrei warmly welcomed us into their lovely B & B and we immediately felt at home. Our room was quite lovely and suited our needs perfectly. Breakfasts were amazing - cooked to order with local ingredients. It was a wonderful weekend and we'll definitely plan to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyK0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have stayed in many B&Bs, but Lynda and Andre bring the B&B experience to a very high level. They are extremely accommodating and look to attend to your needs. Their Inn is charming and Lynda's breakfast should become legendary. They grow many of the vegetables that she uses for breakfast and gets her eggs from her hens on site. She augments her other ingredients from local sources. Compliment these fresh and tasty ingredients with Lynda's superb culinary skills, and you have a breakfast experience that is second to none. The Inn is very clean and located close to Great Barrington Center, which is a charming and active town. All of the other guests who were there with us all seemed to share the same excellent experience as we had. We have been there twice and plan on returning again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gschader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I have been staying at B&Bs in the Berkshires for about 25 years. When the B&B we had stayed at for the last five years closed unexpectedly we did some research (mostly on Trip Advisor) and found this wonderful place. Admittedly, we can be critical but there is absolutely nothing to criticize here. To the contrary, everything was top notch, from the ambiance, to the food, to the room, etc. We can't say enough good things about our hosts, Lynda and Andre, who are just wonderfully warm and knowledgeable people who are walking encyclopedias of everything in Western Massachusetts. And please don't miss Lynda's omelettes, they are the best. I could go on and on with the superlatives but the best thing I can say is--we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We just spent two nights at this fabulous Inn and we wish we had stayed another few days. Breakfast is made with the best organic ingredients and Lynda is a quite a gifted cook. We will never forget the rose petal jam and the gooseberry jam, the homemade croissants and crispy breads, the almond pear pie, the raspberry short bread, the minestrone soup and other specials we had for breakfast. In the evening, Andrei prepared herbal teas with lemon verbena, mint, or linden from his garden. I drink lots of teas but hardly ever had anything so fragrant. The linen and towels were so soft! I did not know organic cotton could be that soft and beautiful. We slept like babies! As other guests mentioned in their reviews, Lynda and Andrei know the area very well and were able to recommend two gorgeous hikes starting at their place and several excellent restaurants in Great Barrington, Lenox, New Malborough, etc. We loved browsing through the library in the living room and In our bedroom: cook books and other treasures about art, colors, sacred geometry, meditation and yoga, self growth, astrology, almanacs, etc. We will recommend this Inn to all our friends and are planning to go back in October to see the foliage and relax by the fireplace. We came back rejuvenated, peaceful, and very grateful to Lynda and Andrei who pampered up with their loving, respectful presence and insights. There is no swimming pool and fitness center but woods and lakes provide places for keeping in shape. sorry I could not find ho to write N/A for the questions below about the individual rating.

Room Tip: We had the first floor bedroom which is quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed one night on our New England road trip at this wonderful B&B outside of Great Barrington about 7 miles in the rural area. It's an old farm house restored well but very rustic. Floors are still the wide plank original wood and the stairs creak somewhat. Even has "Skeleton Keys" for the separate rooms. But best of all are the chickens maintained on the property which provide the most delicious fresh eggs for breakfast delights. Lynda and her husband Andrei are most welcoming, fun to talk to and a wealth of information. Of all the B&B's we stayed on our trip, this was definitely one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
12.6 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
174 reviews
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Bar...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
319 reviews
13.8 mi away
Garden Gables Inn
Garden Gables Inn
#4 of 16 in Lenox
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Wainwright Inn
Wainwright Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
250 reviews
2.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
183 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sweet Water Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sweet Water Farm

Address: 1 Prospect Lake Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-9003
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: $145 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Sweet Water Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Bed & Breakfast providing respite from the hectic schedules of every day life. Relax here in nature and let us take care of you. Delight your tastebuds with our off menu breakfasts with eggs from our hens, and other organic, locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy everything the Berkshires has to offer, from hikes and swimming to 5 star dining and musical performances at Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn at Sweet Water Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing