We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn at Sweet Water Farm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you’re looking for a Home away from Home then you’ll find it here at this lil’ gem of a B&B, nestled in the hills of the Berkshires. When my best friend of 26 years & I went looking for a quiet, nature-filled venue to catch up after a busy summer, we landed here. The Inn at Sweet Water Farm instantly became our home away from home. On our arrival we were cheerfully greeted and directed to the dining room side board where fresh coffee, home made scones and other goodies were lovingly made by Lynda our Inn Keeper...A good sign and a fine start to our 3 day retreat. Our room was fashioned with vintage pieces and 2 delightfully comfortable beds; the obvious focus, and adorned with pure white, freshly line dried linens. I have to admit this caught my attention and my heart. A labor of love and testimonial to Lynda and Andrei’s desire to offer comfort and a restful sleep for their guests. But perhaps the most delightful of all comforts was Lynda’s culinary talent. Waking to the wafting smells of freshly baked croissants and freshly brewed coffee had me smiling even before opening my eyes. A bright & whimsical chef Lynda’s breakfast offerings had our taste buds in awe. Make no mistake about it, this is seriously good food, prepared with passion, skill and creativity. Eggs from the chicken coop out back, freshly baked breads, hand selected cheeses and homemade jam! Breakfast has never been better or fresher. Lynda and her husband Andrei graciously and generously opened their home and their hearts to us. Coming back is certain now that there is a Home away from Home at The Inn at Sweet Water Farm. Keep a room ready Sweet Water....I’ll be home soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmalud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 224 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

About what a wonderful couple of days we spent here in August. The room (on the main level) was comfy and charming. The hosts were welcoming, warm and helpful. And the breakfast, as everyone knows by now, was amazing. Lynda is an incredible cook using the most local and fresh ingredients. This was our first stay but definitely will not be our last... already looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

we stayed here the last week of August to attend a freind's wedding in the area. We were really just looking for a place to stay but we got a lot more. FRESH eggs in the morning from the inns chickens, great breakfast home baked treats, freindly hosts anda really comfy bed anad welcoming living room area where our hosts always had some wine... waiting for the guests. Good location to explore great barrington. If you want a comfy place to stay with a re4ally nice breakfast this is the place to go

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinSStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I started thinking about when I wanted to come back as I was packing. From the warm welcome we received from both Lynda and Andrei as soon as we arrived, to the goodies they packed for our drive home, our visit at Sweet Water was like visiting family who only appeared just when you needed them to. Comfortable beds (with great linens that are line dried), eclectic art with lots of "ahas" as you walk through each room, and amazing breakfasts that keep you satisfied until early afternoon-- there is no end to the warm and fuzziness of this place. The location is superb (wonderful walks through the woods nearby, and a short car ride to everything worth visiting in the Berkshires). The water (from an artesian well no less) is delicious and somehow hydrates you in a way you have never been hydrated. Lynda's breakfasts include fresh and inventive offerings-- both sweet and savory delights (the onion and goat cheese tart, with fresh figs, was one of the fabulous little starters she made one morning as you decided on which of the many cook-to-order choices on her menu would start your day). I have stayed at many B&B's, and this one is by far one of the most special--and comfortable. A keeper for sure. You must experience it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Inn over Labor Day. We had a relaxing and wonderful time. Our room was comfortable and well appointed with small amenities. The breakfasts were delicious. I especially enjoyed the warm and inviting common spaces (inside and out) and talking with Linda and Andrei, both very special inn keepers. They will take good care of you and you'll leave without a care in the world. Enjoy the Inn and recommend it only to special people!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EAM0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Sunday morning's lobster with grits was beyond belief. But then so was Thursday's grilled homemade sourdough bread with tomato, chevre and poached egg, served with the most delicious bacon I've ever had (Berkshire bacon, of course). Lynda is not a "good cook." Rather, she is an accomplished chef, with restaurant experience, and deep knowledge about food.

The walls of the inn are filled with books on all sorts of subjects. There are many cookbooks, and books about food. There are several books scattered on the tables of the breakfast room, as well, in case you choose to have breakfast without your computer. (The wi-fi is excellent.)

The rooms are lovely and country quiet, only a 5 minute drive to South Egremont and perhaps 5 more minutes into Great Barrington. Local attractions are many and varied. I'm usually there for the summer Berkshire Choral Festival in Sheffield. What a wonderful place I've found to stay in!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Lynda and Andrei were wonderful hosts, the food was superb, and the setting quiet country. A special treat was eating eggs from Lynda's hens. She is a really good cook; there is a wall full of cookbooks. The room was comfortable and the beds fabulous. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theodore N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obninsk23, Owner at The Inn at Sweet Water Farm, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

We couldn’t let our centennial review go by without thanking you for taking the time to put your approval down in writing.
Thanks for appreciating the chickens, the line-dried hand-ironed sheets, the locally sourced food and amenities, the privacy, the attention to detail…and the artesian well water after which we named the inn.
Without you we wouldn’t be rated among Berkshire’s finest. You get us and we think you’re Five Stars, too!
As for our favorite four star “concern” from a guest last October…where are our autumn pumpkins? Hiding under the poached egg in your pumpkin risotto.

The Inn at Sweet Water Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
690 reviews
12.5 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.8 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
308 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,056 reviews
2.8 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Sweet Water Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Sweet Water Farm

Address: 1 Prospect Lake Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-9003
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range: $145 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Sweet Water Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a boutique Bed & Breakfast providing respite from the hectic schedules of every day life. Relax here in nature and let us take care of you. Delight your tastebuds with our off menu breakfasts with eggs from our hens, and other organic, locally sourced ingredients. Enjoy everything the Berkshires has to offer, from hikes and swimming to 5 star dining and musical performances at Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Inn at Sweet Water Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing