We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed.”
Review of Route 7 Grill - CLOSED

Route 7 Grill
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lime Kiln Road
Description: We at Route 7 Grill are proud to be providing fresh, local food to our Berkshire neighbors and friends. All of our meats are naturally raised from local farms or small family farms. We hope that our close relationship with these farmers have some positive effect in preserving local farming traditions. Everything we serve, including stocks, soups, dressings & desserts are made here from scratch. Our philosophy is inspired by Berkshire Grown, as well as the farm-to-table movement. The restaurant, nestled in the Housatonic river valley of the Southern Berkshires offers a full service dining room and full bar. We're located on historic Route 7 south of Great Barrington in the shadow of June Mountain We also offer a second dining room concept - including Raw Bar, Charcuterie & Tasting menus. Call for details!
Farmington, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very disappointed.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We chose this place to stop for lunch on the way to the theater in Williamstown, but honestly, we should have gone hungry instead of late.

We informed our server that we only had 90 minutes, and she said "no problem," which seemed reasonable as only 2 other tables were occupied. Long story short, 85 minutes later, after the other 3 in my party had been served and finished, my "medium rare" burger arrived burnt and inedible, with no apologies. And this was after I had sent her to look for it twice.

The other meals at the table were acceptable, but nothing special, and all agreed that the rustic-diner-looking ambience was by far the best feature of the R7 Grill.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Traveling_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    17
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seniors enjoy lunch”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile


Stopped for weekday lunch. First customers so service was all A+.
Waitress explained lunch special for $7 ( on the table card) as well as explained starters. Lunch menu same as dinner. I had special fish on brioche with great dressing & slaw+ super fries portion & house ketchup. Wife had pulled pork with same fries ($13). Both items excellent & worth it. Owner there & chatty.
We'll be back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceMa135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Glad we decided to eat dinner here. Cute, country casual restaurant with excellent food and drinks! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern cuisine in a very nice place”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We arrived to a very quiet restaurant which put us off slightly but we stuck with it and were so glad we did! The place is really nicely decorated and the menu was quite varied. The drinks list was excellent, we were spoilt for choice between the wines, cocktails and beers. The aviation cocktail in particular was delicious, and stylishly served. The restaurant clearly has BBQ roots but offers modern, inventive food without being pretentious. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and the owner and locals at the bar were all very friendly and chatty.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwak_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sophisticated and affordable food for the whole family!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have been visiting route 7 for many years. The menu has evolved over time, as it should, always offering great plates of food. I recently went back after a few months and was amazed at how much the menu has been revamped. I love that there are more seafood choices! There is a less on the menu than the earlier days but this is definitely a case of less is more! They are focussing on what they do best, beautiful, quality cuts of meat and exquisite local veggies. I personally had the jerk fish sandwich, which was moist and flaky. The French fries were damn near perfect and presented beautifully in a glass mason jar. My friends were coming back to have more of the steak which was amazing! The children ate ribs, hotdogs and burgers and each plate was pretty much clear, great value. We shared a bottle of the Cote Du Rhone which was perfect. I will be returning to R7 whenever I can to work my way through this very sophisticated yet affordable menu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lakefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 7 Grill also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing