We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I living in the Twilight Zone?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Route 7 Grill - CLOSED

Route 7 Grill
Price range: $25 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lime Kiln Road
Description: We at Route 7 Grill are proud to be providing fresh, local food to our Berkshire neighbors and friends. All of our meats are naturally raised from local farms or small family farms. We hope that our close relationship with these farmers have some positive effect in preserving local farming traditions. Everything we serve, including stocks, soups, dressings & desserts are made here from scratch. Our philosophy is inspired by Berkshire Grown, as well as the farm-to-table movement. The restaurant, nestled in the Housatonic river valley of the Southern Berkshires offers a full service dining room and full bar. We're located on historic Route 7 south of Great Barrington in the shadow of June Mountain We also offer a second dining room concept - including Raw Bar, Charcuterie & Tasting menus. Call for details!
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Am I living in the Twilight Zone?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I believe in visiting restaurants twice before reviewing. I've been here four times. I keep coming back because some of the reviews are gangbuster great. This leads me to believe that people have very low standards, or have never had great barbacue. When you order good barbacue, 1/2 the rack shouldn't still be frozen when it arrives on your plate. The ribs should have meat on them, the chicken on a salad should have more meat than gristle, organic and local should also translate into delicious and savory. Anyone who thinks this is good barbacue has never eaten south of Bayonne.
There are interesting appetizers, and the sweet potato fries (when they have them) are good. Lester is a great fiend to the community, has a nice beer list, a good bar and burgers. But he should take a family vacation out to KC to visit Arthur Bryant's and Oklahoma Joe's, and work his way back through the south.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinakil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rt7Grill, Owner at Route 7 Grill, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Bill,
Thanks for the review! I apologize for any parts of your meal that were sub-standard (we try to fix those issues at the time so you'd leave happier)

I am looking forward to a family trip to the classic BBQ spots throughout the country.

In the meantime, I hope to see you in soon for one of our local beef burgers & awesome sweet potato fries!

Regards,
Lester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    23
    17
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
130 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“It's gone down again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We are so disappointed in this place. It is close to home, and we love BBQ and even like the owner, who we met there. But every time we go there we vow never to go back. They must get a lot of one-time visits. The main problem is the staff - inexperienced! We arrived at about 7:30 on a weeknight, with no reservation. There were 4 people at the bar and maybe (being kind) 1/4 of the tables occupied. Still, when the staff person came out of the dining room where she was working to greet us several minutes later, she asked if we had a reservation and then kept us waiting for another minute or so while she checked the computer/monitor. We followed her into the almost empty dining room, where she led us to one table and then apologized, saying that since we had no reservation she would give us another table. Not much difference, all the tables are in a sort of open hall with bad acoustics.

We ordered drinks, the "hostess" who turned out to be our waiter was in a hurry to also take our food orders, but we were not quite ready. We asked for a glass of ice. The drinks arrived and we repeated our request for ice, to be brusquely told "oh yeah, I know that". The ice did not arrive until much later with the second drink order.

We ordered dinner - okay - and our salads were brought out and then the bartender brought the main course. I guess our server was kind of busy with the one or two other tables in the place (despite another server in attendance and someone who wandered out of the kitchen doing other tasks) Salads were lackluster, chicken full of gristle and undercooked, ribs almost inedible for the fat. Noise level atrocious, and remember there were about 4 tables out of 20 occupied, and none of them boistrous.

Jeez, I hate to blast the place, but I just hate for others to visit our great town and get this kind of experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wywyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rt7Grill, Owner at Route 7 Grill, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Wywyno,
Thank you for your second review of Route 7 Grill.
I am sorry your experience has been far from what I consider our standard.
We know we are only as good as our last meal and we work hard to communicate that message to all staff to ensure a solid, honest, well-prepared meal with happy & efficient service.
I apologize again.
Sincerely,
Lester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
221 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Local Farm Produce Features Top Spot in Delicious Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We're talking meat here, thick barbecue ribs or slabs of beef and chicken. Warning, you might waddle away stuffed to the gills! The sides offer a variety of locally grown vegetables. The menu lists several dozen local farms whose produce are offered. Even the steaks come from local farms. Our waitress was lovely and delightful and the atmosphere is clean and bright. We had a great time and will return. This is not a breakfast or lunch spot, dinners only. There is a rich selection of wines and beers, I enjoyed the best "hard" cider I ever tasted (got a sweet tooth). This restaurant is located on Route 7 (the main drag north in western Massachusetts) a little south of Great Barrington.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rt7Grill, Owner at Route 7 Grill, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thanks for the excellent review - you seem to understand the lengths we go to!! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Glad you enjoyed the cider! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buck county
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a nice suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

This place was very very nice. Exceptional service and ambience and most of all the food! I enjoyed enough and took some away for another meal! The salmon cake appetizer had a lovely white sauce on the side and the hamburger and sweet potato fries were very tasty. Topped off with the guiness choc cake! Wow! Opens at 5 but they let us in early to study the menu. Check this place out when going antiqing in Great Barrington! We did!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank zoomug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Wow what great food, service, and hospitality.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Thanks for the superb food, great service, and excellent hospitality. The wings were delicious as always. Everything was great. Our favorite spot to go, with or with out the boys. The boys were thrilled with their tour of the kitchen. They talked all about it, the whole ride home. We enjoyed our leftovers tonight for dinner. We had our reheated Route 7 steak with our own "homemade" chicken eggs. We look forward to our next trip to the grill. Your food and service is excellent. Jana, Todd, Travis, and Owen Bush

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rt7Grill, Owner at Route 7 Grill, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thanks so much for the review!
We love having you as great customers who understand & appreciate our passion.
Best, Lester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 7 Grill also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing