We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ski Butternut

Ski Butternut
Certificate of Excellence
New York, N.Y.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Terrific staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Took two lessons over a weekend. One terrific instructor (Mark), another who seemed to be getting a little impatient with my slow progress. But overall a very enjoyable weekend, with several other staff who impressed me with their encouragement and attentiveness. Can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bbright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    70
    30
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Review for new young snowboarder lessons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Let me first say that this has been my first season at Butternut and I have been extremely impressed with the Customer Service of the ski school. This review is for the multi-week snow boarding program (8 year old) and group lessons for snowboarding program (4 year old).

Age of participant - 8 years old
Ability - First time snowboarding
Program - Multi-week Snowboarding program
Cost - Moderate
Pros - Good learning mountain with many options
Cons - The instructors are young kids (maybe 19 years old - 24 years old), they get frustrated easily if the child is not learning fast enough. I have friends that did the ski program with the young kids and they had a very positive experience.
Suggestions to Butternut - Find a group of snowboard instructors that are really good with young kids and use them for these programs.
Suggestions to Butternut - Find a group of snowboard instructors that are really good with young kids and use them for these programs.

Age of participant - 4 years old
Ability - 1st time snowboarding
Program - Group lessons
Cost - Moderate (if there are 3 kids or less you only get 1 hour instead of 1 1/2 hours)
Pros - it all depends on the instructor (Jessie and Shane are amazing!!! Because they are they are always on private lessons) If you really want your young one to learn schedule one of the them.
Cons - The instructors are young kids (maybe 19 years old - 24 years old), they get frustrated easily if the child is not learning fast enough. I have friends that did the ski program with the young kids and they had a very positive experience.

THINGS TO NOTE - The customer service of the Ski School is exceptional. The man who runs it, Dick, is an amazing guy and very fair. The customer service experience could not have been better. I just think for younger kids snowboarding, it is more complex.

Hope this helps!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bang For The Buck in New England”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

You can't beat the value with a season pass at Ski Butternut. While this is not a Killington or even an Okemo, it doesn't pretend to be. Very family friendly. Excellent ski school and racing program. Great option for those in the metro NYC area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank esmith2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Little Mountain”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Butternut is a cool little mountain. Usually after 2-3 hours there I get bored, but when I first started snowboarding there it was amazing, but once you go to larger mountain harder to go back to smaller ones. For the proximity to my weekend home it isn't to far, so I will continue to go. The best part about this mountain the cost of the weekday lift tickets, unbeatable!! I recall they used Burton gear, which is great. The trails are good, some narrow, some wide, some steep and some flat. Definitely something for everyone. Also, I love their little mini park that has some small jumps and boxes.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for 1st time snowboarders”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

A great place for our 1st time snowboards to take a lesson and have ample time to practice on smaller slopes. We went in mid-March with temps getting into the low 40's so early morning was better conditions but overall not crowded and a great experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ctfamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ski Butternut also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
South Egremont, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Ski Butternut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing