We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh meat everyplace”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Meat Market

The Meat Market
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh meat everyplace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My husband was in his glory - fresh cuts of meat hanging in the coolers behind glass doors that allow for viewing. He order a variety of things which we have taken home an he will prepare, but as a chef he was very impressed with the choices.

Me, I loved watching someone actually stuffing sausage!

We did not eat at the location, but rather purchased fresh meats.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingNYScouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    4
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Loved this place! Had the pulled pork and polenta and brought home slab bacon and lamb bacon (!). Delicious and very fairly priced for the quality of the meat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessGos1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida, United States
1 review
“Wish we had one of these near us!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having grown up in Great Barrington, what a pleasant surprise to return and find such a wonderful 'new' addition. My girlfriend and I went twice for lunch during our short trip, and very much enjoyed ourselves both times. The pork burger was particularly good. I applaud businesses that make such a principled effort to bring high quality food from happy, healthy animals to their customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“New wave meat market hits Great Barrington!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

In the tradition of Brooklyn's Fleishers - local, grass fed, cared for meat -- young and hip staff -- great cuts and house made charcuterie. And they have a little cafe in back and outdoors -- terrific sandwiches. A beautiful and thoughtful store.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GMBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belchertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meat Lover's Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Every time we travel out to Great Barrington, we make sure to stop at the Meat Market and take a look at the selection of finely cut meats they have to offer!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Meat Market also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to The Meat Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing