We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Framingham
Level Contributor
186 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
Reviewed August 24, 2005

Spent a night in August at the holiday Inn Express in Great Barrington. Fairly new. Good service. Nice rooms. Breakfast. Given the quality of most motels in the berkshires (lenox, etc.). this is certainly worth being a few miles south for the great improvement in quality.

Helpful?
5 Thank Joanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
50
62
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kauai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2005

A nice hotel, clean and new, located near Tanglewood and other Berkshire attractions. Reasonable price for the area. We were upgraded to a suite which was perfect for our family, with lots of room and comfortable beds. Our stay was pleasant and not at all noisy (contrary to a previous review). We were very pleased.

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank propaneKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2005

My husband, 3 children and I stayed here in the fall. We usually stay with relatives in the area but their house was crowded with other guests so we volunteered to stay in a hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms and common areas were immaculately clean and well maintained. I don't usually sleep well away from my own bed, but the beds were so comfortable that I had a great night's sleep. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They offer a buffet style breakfast in a very comfortable room with nice views of the back of the property. There is an indoor pool which was a nice treat for my kids to be able to swim after Labor Day. We are planning to stay at Holiday Inn Express again the next time we are in the Berkshires.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WildRose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

We had a really great stay at this hotel! The rooms are very clean and the staff was so nice and helpfull. All of the rooms have a fridge and microwave, and the bathrooms have a really great shower head which I would even consider buying! The breakfast had fresh bagels and fruit which was perfect for us. Even the landscaping and flowers by the front door are attractive. I would highly reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Umpachini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express over Memorial Day weekend 2005. Ours was a last minute booking, and most of the area bed and breakfasts/inns were either booked or quite a bit more expensive. We opted for the HIE based on its central Great Barrington location (right off Route 7, steps from many dining options and just a couple minutes drive from the center of town) and were very pleased with our choice.

Our non-smoking room had two queen beds and was clean and well-maintained. Recent upgrades to the Holiday Inn Express hotel chain include bathroom improvements, such as boutique toiletries, new plush towels and Kohler fixtures like the "SimplySmart" showerhead (also available for sale.) Standard continental breakfast was served (6:30-9:30am) and included a decent selection of cereals, cinnamon rolls, fresh fruit (whole and cut), bagels, toast, english muffins, hot chocolate, coffee, tea and juices. This hotel is also equipped with a small pool, which appeared adequate, though we did not take advantage of it. The parking lot was well-lit and more than sufficient for the number of rooms. Staff was efficient and helpful in their tourist recommendations.

If you're looking for more typicially quaint, homey Berkshires lodging, this may not be the place for you. But based on the other lodging options in this price range, the HIE was better maintained than most, and an excellent option for budget conscious travelers.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 25, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Great Barrington, MA, on March 25, 2005. This was the Friday of Easter weekend and the hotel was packed with many families with children.

We had a really nice room - a king suite. It had a sitting area with a love seat, chair, and table, a kitchen area with a refrigerator, sink, microwave, table and chairs, and a king sized bed. The bathroom was roomy and everything looked clean. If it had not been for the noise level and the rudeness of the other guests, this would have been a hotel I would recommend.

We checked in about 4 pm and from then until 11:30 pm, there was not a quiet moment. Children were constantly running up and down the halls, screaming, playing, and slamming doors. We asked many children to please not run and shout in the halls, but their parents did nothing to control them. Adding to the din was the noise from the tv and conversation from the next room, which we could hear clearly through the wall until well after midnight. The soundproofing in this hotel is non-existent.

The door slamming, hall running and screaming started up again by 6:30 the next morning. When we went down to what the hotel calls the "Great Room" where a free continental breakfast is served, the first thing we saw was a man lying on a couch in front of the fireplace, reading a book in his pajamas! His bare feet were hanging off the end. It was rather repulsive. Then two young boys, about 7 & 9 came in, also in pajamas and bare feet and helped themselves to breakfast (their parents were nowhere in sight). They got cereal by putting their bare hands in the containers and scooping it out into their bowls. We left when a Mom and her two daughters, also all in bare feet and two wearing pajamas, came in for breakfast.

When we checked out, a woman ahead of us was complaining to the desk clerk about the noise in the hotel. We also complained and he only said that they had had a lot of complaints about the noise. Apparently this is not a new problem for this hotel, as in the hotel information binder in our room, there was specific mention that children should not be running and screaming in the halls.

As long as the management of this hotel is unconcerned about the incredible noise problem, unruly guests and guests who feel it's okay to wander public areas in their pajamas, I cannot recommend this hotel. Find a place where the guests manage to act civilized.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 17, 2004

Great rooms. 2 queen beds. Mini frig. Microwave. Pool. Close to area highlights in town and in Stockbridge and Lenox.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
364 reviews
8.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing