We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Thieves!”
Reviewed May 8, 2008

I would not recommend this Holiday Inn Express or any other. My husband and I were charged for two rooms instead of one. We used our check card and it caused us lots of problems and they were not willing to give us our night's stay for free after we had to spend a week making calls and correcting all the errors they caused us as a result! They only credited back the one room that they charged us in error and basically told us it was our fault for using our check card that we should never use our check card for a hotel stay! So basically they stole from us and we payed the penalty. Common Curtousy would have refunded our original room fee but they refused! They are all about $$$$$$$$ and nothing about customer care and service.

  • Disliked — Customer Consideration
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PunishedForStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    67
    28
    9
    12
See reviews for
52
63
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

Our experience at the Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington was positive. The women at the desk were courteous and friendly. We were booked into a king suite, which was nice and spacious. The entire hotel was spotless.

The breakfast was good and the attendant was friendly. There's a nice outdoor seating area that must be enjoyable in the warmer months.

I can see how people might complain about the thin walls, but we put the fan on and weren't disturbed.

All in all, a very good place to stay when visiting the area.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — a little bit of noise--nothing too drastic.
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here just a couple nights ago and our experience was great. I have stayed here on business in the past and had the same experience. When we arrived, we were greeted with by a very courteous woman at the desk. Even though we were a few hours early, our room was ready and being a Priority Club Member, I was given a little bag with a bottled water and a snack. We booked the jacuzzi / fireplace room which we found to be great. Everything was clean, including the jacuzzi. The room was right next to the office on the first floor but we never really heard much activity so I can't speak to the thin walls that others have. We spent a couple hours walking around downtown Great Barrington and had dinner at the brewery that was right across the street, which was also very pleasant. All in all, this was a great place to stay and I know that we'll be back. The extra we spent on the jacuzzi room was worth it. The hot breakfast that's now being served in the HI Exp's is great too. Plenty to choose from and it was fresh. Thanks again, HIE for a great stay & keep up the good work!

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the room & hotel in general
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2008

the hotel is such a nice property, with clean, well appointed rooms. i can't understand why no money was spent on insulation between rooms. it is very disturbing, that i had to sleep with the fan on just to drown out even low talking from the next door room. i always ask for a room without an adjoining door, and that didn.t even help

  • Liked — nice colors in the room
  • Disliked — thin walls and thin blankets
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank drtranslator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2007

I would not stay here again. The staff was friendly and the room was fine. As a previous poster mentioned, the walls are thin and you hear any loud noise in the hallway. There are no weights in the exercise room - just one bike and one treadmill. What really convinced me of the shallowness of the place, though, was the breakfast. I actually despised the breakfast. Sausages and eggs were dried up and hard. The cinnamon roll was sitting under hot lamps for hours and soggy. For $169.00/night plus tax, I expect better. If this is typical HI Express fare than I would rather save a $100+ and stay at the Travelodge across the street.

  • Liked — location and quick check-in
  • Disliked — Breakfast was inedible.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ChinaShrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Sparkling clean, staff could not have been more courteous or helpful, the free breakfast was wonderful and they even had a fire in the fireplace. Only one problem, and it was big enough that despite everything else being perfect, we probably won't come back: the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbors snore and even clear their throats. Of course, that meant we could also tell what they were watching on TV.

  • Liked — Cleaniness
  • Disliked — Paper-thin walls, so heard everything our neighbors said or did
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lia_in_Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

This place was excellent. The staff is extremely nice and helpful -- every last employee in the hotel was consistently smiling and helpful. The rooms were clean and relatively new. The amenities were complete, the breakfast was great and regularly maintained. In retrospect, I can't of any negatives really.

The Manager, Robert, was very helpful and engaging. I'd recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank hi_plains_drifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing