We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First impression was the wrong impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First impression was the wrong impression”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

So drove up from Branford Ct. Arrived at hotel early, but being the hotel business as a GM I understand at 9am we weren't going to be able to check in. My wife asked do you have any room yet. She clerk said "oh no". I asked if we could pre register, she replied "no". So within the first 3 mins no twice.

There are many different ways to say no without saying no. Yes its a Holiday Inn express but when you work in hotels your are there to "make it happen" to make the guest have a wow experience, to create raving fans. If you work at the desk you NEED to understand you are on stage at ALL TIMES.

The room is fine and now we are settled in but to be greeted like that was really bad. We are paying over $200.00 per night to go skiing at Butternut. I will stay at Comfort Inn next time.

There is a reason why this hotel is ranked 7 out of 8 hotels on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomasjsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear thomasjsullivan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. It is certainly disheartening to read of your experience and the fact we fell short in rendering great service during your stay. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and would like to assure you that all of the points you raised in you review will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    65
    27
    8
    11
See reviews for
49
61
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I came up to ski Butternut and Catamount for 2 days mid week, with my family. The hotel staff accommodated an early check in so we could change for skiing. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast was good and plentiful. The workout room was small with only 2 treadmills and a bike, but it was fine for me. I found the staff to be extremely friendly. We arrived for breakfast at exactly 930A as they were putting things away. He promptly turned around and put everything back and gave us everything we needed with no rush to finish. I was impressed. I will return again to this hotel when I come back to this area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moira c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is clean and rooms are well appointed. We stayed two nights during MLK weekend. Friday night was great it seem we were the only guess....we used the pool and jacuzzi ...saturday night came and so the rest of the tsunami of people and kids! everywhere. that night we dicided to skip the pool and the kids in it ...breakfast was good just make sure to get ther by 7am so that if you plan to ski get to the slopes Butternut on time...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanTower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
338 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

As HI express locations go, this is an average hotel. The staff is friendly and the location is good if you will be skiing at Butternut. All the usual HI express amenities. Breakfast included. Fitness center and indoor pool. The pool is an added benefit if you are visiting during winter and have kids with you. I bit pricey, however the other choices in town leave a lot to be desired. So overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed at this facility and it was OK. Bathrooms were clean as was bed, but the little details were not up to par. Wallpaper was torn, furniture was a little beat up. Breakfast was no up to par. Staff was very friendly and was able make change to my room when I had to stay an extra day

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Park, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

While a standard mid-price motel, it is a place I would recommend to anyone who wants to be in this area. We have stayed here more than once during summer vacations in the Berkshires.Staff is nice, rooms are OK. There is an indoor pool and a small patio out back with black wrought iron furniture , not made for lounging in the hot summer sun. I prefer a hotel/motel with an outdoor pool and lounge chairs, but here it is not to be had.

Breakfast is included and the supervisor of the breakfast room is very accommodating and sociable and keeps the place immaculate.

Location is good for all that the area has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our stay at this Holiday Inn Express was a good experience. The hotel was in good shape, rooms clean and staff helpful. We expected nothing fancy from a Holiday Inn Express and, indeed, it was pretty much your standard mid-price hotel/motel but we were pleasantly surprised that this property was well maintained and well managed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
8.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing