We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated poorly by Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Wading River, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Treated poorly by Staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were there when almost the entire hotel was occupied by families attending a hockey tournament. Almost every room was occupied by a family. We were unable to enjoy the amenities. The children were actually allowed to play knee hockey in the hallway. At breakfast we witnessed a child sniffing a muffin and then returning it to the case. Although we were paying top dollar we were unable to enjoy the pool or the hot tub.The management seemed afraid to ask the other guests to control (or even watch) their children. Our complaints were met with snickers from the staff. We were not treated as valued guests. Check before you book. Apparently this group books several times a year. This was not a good value for those not in the group.

Room Tip: I would post a picture of the kids playing hockey in the hallway but I don't want to infringe on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAlice1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    66
    28
    8
    11
See reviews for
50
62
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Check inn person was so helpfuI The gentlemen at the breakfast area was asset for you hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The hotel is a no frills, motel in the heart of Gr Barrington, MA. When arriving it was new, clean and pleasant, however when we turned down our bedding there were numerous long, wiry black hairs on the pillows and bedding. There was a man who came to remake the bedding, but it was simply not the best environment in hindsight, and we will likely return to the Confort Inn where we have stayed in the past.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAS_2813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

My family had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn in Great Barrington. The room was clean, everything was new and in working condition. Brand new flat screen tv in the room, along with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. The kids loved the pool and hot tub. Complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise. The staff was friendly and accommodating and it is just minutes from Butternut. We went mid-week so it was not at all crowded. In fact we had the pool entirely to ourselves.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nekothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I have stayed here with my family on weekend ski trips over the past few years and it has consistently met all of our expectations so that we could focus on skiing. Our rooms have been clean and everything appears fairly new. They have both a fridge and microwave which have been very useful. The breakfast is completely serviceable. They have fresh fruit like bananas and apples, juice, coffee, biscuits, sausage, cereal, etc.. These are also "omelets" like pre-made eggs, which I've never eaten, which can also be said for a "white gravy" which I guess is for the biscuits. I've never chosen to try those things, but they seem popluar with the other guests. They have an exercise roon with a treadmill and a pool. The pool is highly chlorinated (adviseable considering the number of kids), so goggles are a must. Free Wifi, so we could surf easily with our iPad. The TV picture quality bas been kind of inconsistent, not distracting, but certain channels can be grainy. They have Disney and Cartoon Network on the cable lineup. If it were $50/nt cheaper I'd absolutely give the Holiday Inn an excellent. That said, we still go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jlee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wahiawa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The room is nice, like any Holiday Inn Express. Seems pretty new...friendly staff. Couldn't believe the Holiday Inn had a heart shaped tub though...really shocked us at first! It is in front of the TV, so you can't avoid seeing it. We picked this hotel because it is really close to the Butternut ski area. I live in Hawaii, so I am used to really high hotel prices, but sheesh I wasn't expecting to pay this much in the woods. When we came back from dinner, lots of people were in the common area watching TV and playing cards, which was nice to see. Don't expect to be able to do your laundry in the hotel, they will send you across the street. The town is fun to explore, and this hotel is conveniently located to everything.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

we stayed several times at that hotel while skiiing at Catamount; the rooms are clean, the beds comfy and it is very convenient with the children; the swimming pool (indoor and heated), though not big, is delightful after a day of skiing. the only unpleasant part, for me, is the breakfast : it is crowded, there are not enough tables for everyone, and nobody cleans the table which makes it an experience I am dreading.....despite that we are planing to stay there again this year because it is a good value in that area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodiloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
276 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
650 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Berkshires-Lenox
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
363 reviews
8.7 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington

Property: Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Address: 415 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Great Barrington is situated in the heart of the beautiful Southern Berkshire Mountains. We are in close proximity to many boutique shops, several ski areas, a host of cultural activities, including Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, Barrington Stage Company, and The Berkshire Opera Company to name a few. Every room in the hotel includes a microwave oven and a refrigerator, high speed internet access, iron, ironing board, and coffeemaker. Our King Studio Suites offer the guest a significantly larger room complete with sofa-bed, sitting area, wet bar, and activity table. For a unique experience ask for one of our playful Jacuzzi suites. These red heart-shaped tubs are perfect for a couple looking to get away from it all and relax, or to just soak in after a long hard day of work. The property features an indoor swimming pool, hot tub, fitness room, and meeting room. The business center computer is free to use, with totally free internet access, so you can stay in touch without having to lug your own computer with you. The Express Start breakfast if free to all, and is always a big hit with our many repeat guests. Come on out to The Berkshires and see how the other half lives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Great Barrington
Great Barrington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing