We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wainwright Inn
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarcliff Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornewood Inn(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$199
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windflower Inn(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monument Mountain Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barrington(Great Barrington)
$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Sweet Water Farm(Great Barrington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
226
34
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
34
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housefront porchbreakfast was deliciouswest wingchris barbown bathroompope roomold housecycling clubhost and hostessdietary needsshort walkmodern amenitiesantique storeshomemade cookieswonderful hostslarge living room
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 267 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Marja, Robert, and Darryl helped make our stay in Great Barrington pleasurable. We started off each day with a delicious breakfast, and they took great care to accommodate my husband's food intolerance. They provided many thoughtful recommendations for events, activities, and restaurants, and make space for us to store our bicycles in their office.

The room was beautiful, and the location of the inn is ideal for enjoying Great Barrington's downtown. Great value. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

This is our second visit and as with our first, we felt welcome from the minute we arrived. Immaculately kept with clean, comfortable rooms, furnished to match the ambience of the 200 year old house. Breakfast by Darryl, is like no where else, and is worth being sure not to miss. We plan to visit The Berkshires often in the future and this is where we will stay.
Cozy, quiet and relaxing and only a short walk from the town center. Marja and Robert are fabulous hosts and can offer suggestions on local sites and restaurants. The best thing about the Wainwright is arriving, since you have your stay to look forward to. The thing we liked least was leaving.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BahaCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

I picked out the Wainwright off the web because of location and other reviews and I was totally satisfied with the experience and value. Nov. seemed to be an off month but there was plenty to do without the crowds and waiting I've experienced in the Berkshires in busier seasons. The inn is attractive and comfortable, the staff meets the balance between friendly/casual and respectful/non-intrusive perfectly. Breakfasts are delicious, interesting, healthy and just right in an elegant sort of way. We will be back to this gem again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseyboy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

I wasn't surprised that the Wainwright Inn was such a great B&B, since the reviews on TripAdvisor are uniformly excellent, but I was pleased to see that it lived up to its stellar reputation. Marja was professional and friendly without stepping on our toes, and Darryl is every bit as good of a breakfast chef as you've read in previous reviews. In the two days we stayed there, we had amazing fresh morning glory muffins, homemade cinnamon French toast (he's sending us the recipe), a delicious egg and toasted bread dish, and fresh fruit with a sour cream/brown sugar sauce. Wonderful! The inn itself is historic and quaint but really well-maintained and spotlessly clean. A great stay that I'd love to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

My fiance and I went to Great Barrington for the weekend to visit his alma mater. We stayed at the Wainwright for only one night. We were able to choose our own room because other guests have not arrived as of yet. We stayed in the Edison Room on the lower level, and we had a lot of privacy. Wainwright is close to everything. We appreciated the free parking. Marja is very welcoming. We truly felt as if we were at home.

The morning that we were supposed to check out, I got sick and had to rush to the hospital. My fiance called and told them that we may not be able to check out on time. There was no problem, they just wanted to make sure that I was ok. By the time we came back, Marja and Darryl provided us with fresh coffee and cake, told us to take our time, and made me feel a lot better. Darryl is hilarious, and he knows a lot about the area. He gave us suggestions as to where to go skiing, and the best times of the year to come visit. We will definitely be back again soon. This will be our go-to place when we come up to Great Barrington.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews