We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wainwright Inn
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornewood Inn(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$199
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarcliff Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windflower Inn(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monument Mountain Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barrington(Great Barrington)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at Sweet Water Farm(Great Barrington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
226
34
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
34
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housefront porchbreakfast was deliciouswest wingchris barbown bathroompope roomold housecycling clubhost and hostessdietary needsshort walkmodern amenitiesantique storeshomemade cookieswonderful hostslarge living room
Filter
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 267 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2009

My wonderful hubby surprised me for my birthday with a quick jaunt to Great B and another wonderful night at our favorite B&B, the Wainwright Inn. Charming, romantic, historical, all the much needed words to ensure a memorable stay exude at Marja and Robert Tepper's charming Inn which is as close as one can get to the center of town. Our Dutch breakfast was delish and is enough to keep us coming back time and again. And their soap smells really good too.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank blossomgirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Upon arriving in Great Barrington, passing various businesses on Main Street, we came upon the Wainwright Inn, a beautifully well-kept time capsule. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfasts some of the best we've had in our travels about the country in various B & Bs. The food was fresh, well-prepared and scrumptious. We stayed in the Carriage House, which is a separate structure in order to be away from the morning traffic on Route 7. Upon returning to our room from breakfast, the room was always freshly made up. The Carriage house had a small kitchenette and a common area, plus two bedrooms, with separate locked entrances off the common area with bathrooms ensuite. Although packed with guests, we did not feel at all cramped and there was ample parking. The attention we received was as if we were the only ones there (I'm sure the other guests felt the same way.) Though a bit pricey, the stay at Wainwright made the difference in our weekend which may have otherwise felt a bit overwhelming (seeing James Taylor at Tanglewood -through a drenching rain on Fri. night and a blazing sun on Sunday). Kudos to the proprietors.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rm-lsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We have stayed in both the main house and the carriage house in the back. Both were beautifully appointed with a lot of thought towards both appearance and comfort. The carriage house is a great place for a family. There are 2 private rooms with a common kitchen, living room and porch. The breakfast is wonderful. Terrific food served on beautiful dishes. The innkeepers are warm and friendly. If only it were less expensive.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank csmclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

My wife and I go to the Berkshires every summer, usually for a long weekend, until we started staying at the Wainwright Inn. For the last three years we have enjoyed a week long summer vacation, mostly due to the pleasant atmosphere at this charming Bed & Breakfast. Close to the center of Great Barrington, and a short driving distance to the other great Berkshire attractions – Tanglewood, Shakespeare and Company, the Berkshire Theater Festive, and Jacob’s Pillow – the Wainwright offers that great combination of convenience and seclusion. But the best reason to stay at the Wainwright is the Innkeeper and her staff. Their pleasant and approachable manner seep into every of corner of the Wainwright, from the clean, attractive rooms, to the fabulous breakfasts served each morning. My wife and I can’t imagine a Berkshire visit without a stay at the Wainwright.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlashop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

The more experienced eater proclaimed this after Darryl did one of his masterpieces. As a follow-up to our 2005 review, we’ve been returning to the Wainwright each year as a testament to the fine overall experience we continually have had. Everything is done to make the stay comfortable, and when comparing prices to other local places, this is a real value.
Only nit: when the AC is on, you really know it is on. But, if you wake up grumpy the breakfast will soon turn it into a smile.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJS and Gale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews