We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wainwright Inn was a relaxing getaway”
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Wainwright Inn was a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the carriage house for three nights. Marja and Robert were welcoming and friendly. The breakfasts were delicious and Marja's dining recommendations were fantastic! She even called and made reservations for us. The Wainwright Inn was a relaxing getaway.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jfcasey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    27
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
110
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delmar
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at the inn for a one night stay on Sunday and took the recommendation of Marja to stay in the Edison Room in the back of the 1st floor. We were greeted warmly by Marja and Robert and shown the common areas before being shown to our room. It is a peaceful, private room separated by a small in-room hallway from the mail hallway. The room has two chairs and firm but comfortable bed and was very restful. There is a beautiful large living room with sherry and port available. The large porch was a nice place to relax in the evening or morning. Breakfast (3 course) was delicious with Marja taking into consideration our dietary needs and food dislikes. They were both very helpful with recommendations for the area and interesting to talk to about their background. It's convenient to the center of town, just 2 minutes drive down route 7. Well worth a return visit. Thank you Robert and Marja!

Room Tip: I'd pick the Edison room or rooms not facing the front, although route 7 noise would probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delmartraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your one night stay and that we were able to have you check out late.
We are looking forward seeing you another time.
Regards,
Marja ,Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

A classic B&B, with large rooms, modern electrical fixtures and modern bath (lo-flush toilets, shower with fixed and hand-held heads). Window mounted A/C was reasonably quiet and efficient. Marja served remarkable breakfasts, changing day to day, with plenty of food, coffee, juices, home-made bread, with some individual variation. Large comfortable beds.
Some street noise, but that can be masked with the A/C. Robert and Marja are very friendly, and always working for their guests' benefit.

Room Tip: Away from street side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was my second visit to the Wainwright in the past few years. It's conveniently located a couple of blocks from the historic center of town. The innkeepers, Marya and her husband Robert, are charming and hospitable. A friend and I stayed there this weekend and had a wonderful experience. Both our rooms were great. Breakfasts included homemade waffles, kale smoothies, baked eggs, and very good coffee. Can't beat it for a place to stay in Great Barrington!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Just spent 2 great nights at this beautiful Inn. The entire experience was superb and the Innkeepers Marja and Robert are charming and delightful. I would definitely recommend the Wainwright Inn to anyone looking for a warm, friendly place to stay!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We only had one night in Great Barrington while grandparents had the kids, but were very glad we chose the Wainwright Inn. The room was great, Marja and Robert were extremely gracious, and breakfast was to die for. We were thrilled with the whole experience, and will try to stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shevah7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us.
We arelooking forward seeing you another time and hopefully a lttle longer there is so much to do and to see in our town.
Regards,
Marja Tepper,innkeeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I were able to leave our kids with family in exchange for a quiet relaxing weekend for just the two of us in the Berkshires. I was pleasantly surprised- Wainwright was a perfect fit for us because it is small enough to be quiet, quaint and private but big enough to not feel like you are staying in a stranger's guest room. The rooms are very beautiful and the house feels to me like a Victorian-age mansion. We loved that it is a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the town shopping, restaurants and bars, so we were able to enjoy the activities we wanted like dinner, drinks and dancing and then walk home to a quiet house and sleep.

The food is wonderful! The owners Marja and Robert are incredibly accommodating and kind. The breakfast selection was delicious and filling and I noticed Marja was willing to cook different options for each guest depending on their preferences. The owners also gave us great advice on what to do while staying- which for us included a trip to the spa for massages and shopping in the different towns which were all a very short drive away. I would definitely recommend. -Andrea and Frank

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
We are happy to learn you enjoyed your time away from the children, hope the troat is all better.
We are looking forward seeing you another time so we can speak some more about the wine.
Thank you for your kind words and have a great summer.
Robert & Marja.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
676 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#1 of 12 in Great Barrington
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 10 in Great Barrington
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Berkshires are a glorious destination year round and The Wainwright Inn is the perfect place to launch your vacation. Tanglewood is just minutes away with summer concerts and picnics on the lawn. Enjoy performances by top name performers at the Berkshire Theater Festival, Shakespeare and Company, or the Barrington Stage Company. For the golfers in the family The Egremont Country Club features a challenging 18-hole golf course. A twenty-five minute drive and a small hike takes you to Bash Bish Water Falls. Visit The Berkshire Botanical Gardens and educate yourself and you children about the plants that thrive in the Berkshires. A twenty minute drive takes you to The Prime Outlets at Lee which offers great shopping at discounted prices. The Berkshires are home to nearly one hundred restaurants, including many fine dinning experiences. Canoeing, swimming, fishing, and horseback riding, are also available in the Berkshires. Take long summer walks or just a relaxing drive through the lovely countryside. Winter means skiing and crisp country air. The Inn is within minutes of downhill skiing at Catamount, Ski Butternut, Otis Ridge and Bousquet. The Berkshires also have miles of cross-country ski trails graded for all levels of ability. Spring means refreshing walks through the countryside, watching the woods turn green again. Stop into one of the many antique shops, auction houses or art galleries, most of which are open year round. Or shake off those winter doldrums with a spring weekend spent quietly rocking on our porch listening to the birds. Autumn brings flaming color to the hills, and our foliage season is packed with harvest cornucopia of activity. Fairs and seasonal events abound, and roadside stands are bursting with produce and cider. Pick your own apples at a local orchard, or hike through one of our many back roads and parks. Fall is a great time to visit Hancock Shaker Village or the nearby Norman Rockwell Museum. During the warm summer months you can swim in a nearby lake or stream. Take a hike to Bash Bish water falls and enjoy the beautiful scenery. Relax on our wrap-around porches with a cool drink, or just relax inside with the comfort of air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing