We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B in the heart of town.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wainwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wainwright Inn
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Nice B&B in the heart of town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

My husband I stayed at the Wainwright Inn for several nights in early October. I highly recommend this inn if you stay in Great Barrington. The location is ideal being only 3 blocks from the center of town. Far enough away to avoid the noise but close enough to walk to everything. There are few options for lodging in the area and some are too far out to enjoy what the town offers. Marja is a wonderful hostess and innkeeper. She keeps the inn spotlessly clean. The rooms are all nice sized and well kept. It was cold in our room at night but the super heavy comforter kept us warm. There is free wi-fi to watch internet tv as there are none in the rooms and little to do in town at night. Sherry and port are available in the main seating area. The common area is small but there is another small one upstairs that offers a tv and video tapes. Breakfast is ala minute (no buffet) with several courses. The inn was full but managed to stay very quiet during our stay. There are other B&B's in the area but many are too far away or way too rustic (i.e, old and musty). It was high season with fall foliage peaking. I thought $200+ a night was a little steep for a full size bed with flat pillows but the Wainwright is by far the best in Great Barrington.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, friendly owner.
  • Disliked — Flat pillows, cold at night.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank suegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    23
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
30
94
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2008

This year was our 7th visit to the Wainwright Inn! The warmth and charm of Marja, (the innkeeper) and Darryl (her very capable 1st assistant) welcome you to their inn. From our first visit 7 years ago, including an extended family week-end, to this last visit in July, the ambiance and decor remind one of being at home. The breakfasts are wonderful, the conversation always fun, and the front porch is a haven to enjoy the flowers, read and have tea and cookies! Marja works very hard to maintain the Inn's standards of cleanliness and excellence. Seven years of visits and we never tire of the beauty and comfort of "Our Berkshire home".
E & D Bernardi, Scituate, MA

  • Liked — Comfort, food, ambiance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank de_bernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

My fiance and I spent one night at the Wainwright Inn this past weekend on a multi-night B&B excursion across the state. We found Great Barrington to be a truly perfect, small and relaxing Berkshire town. There were several restaurant options along with many shops in the center of town. The B&B itself is on Main Street about 1/2 mile past the town center. The property is beautiful and has a wonderful history to go with it. Marja, one of the innkeepers, is just an incredibly nice person. She made us feel at home and gave us a short tour of the inn. Our room had a working fireplace which I had asked for. It was fairly spacious, although, hard to follow our previous nights room (read Black Walnut Inn review in Amherst, MA). The bathroom, as well, was good sized and overall our room was what I had expected. The one issue we had in the room, or moreso my fiance, was that there is a steam heater (at least in our room) right next to the bed that was rather noisy. I had steam heat in a previous home so it was not an issue for me but my fiance did have difficulty sleeping with it and I could understand why despite it not particularly bothering me. The following morning our breakfast was very pleasant. There were several tables in the room for each party to eat. We started with a great cup of coffee and some delicious zucchini bread. Next was fresh fruit that was a perfect followup to the bread and you could tell it was of the freshest quality. Lastly, we finished with homemade french toast with an orange zest and a great local maple syrup. The experience overall was great and we will certainly be back to the Berkshires. There is so much more to do then available time. The Norman Rockwell Museum is a must do, just an incredible facility. The town of Great Barrington, although lacking in any real bars/nightlife, was more than we expected when it came to food (See Pearls Restuarant review, fantastic!) and shopping. My fiance and I often stay at B&B's and are fairly easy to please. At the same time, its important to be as honest as possible in my reviews. Our only other complaint is that as we were stepping out the door to leave, we were grabbed and provided with an envelope to tip the housekeeping staff. I have no problem with the tipping aspect but there should be a more efficient and polite way (leave the envelope with a note in the room maybe?) to execute this process. I would certainly, due to the history, friendly innkeepers and plentiful breakfast suggest this inn to anyone traveling to the southern Berkshires.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BriTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

We enjoyed our stay in the Wainwright Inn, a former 18th century tavern into a lovely arranged accommodation. Marja, the very friendly
owner knows how to satisfy their guests with a wonderfull, rich and every day changing brakefast, made from best regional recipes. The rooms are big and comfortable and also very silent even the Inn is situated at the Main Street. It was hard to leave this lovely place.

  • Liked — The breakfast and the owners
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fuh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, NJ
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2007

The Wainwright Inn is a historic home built in the 1700's, and convereted into a bed-and-breakfast with private baths and many private fireplaces. My wife and I came there for a getaway weekend in Mid-October 2007, and enjoyed a terrific time. The rooms have no televisions or telephones, just a clock radio-- a plus from our point of view (there was a television in a study upstairs for general use). The innkeepers, Marja and Robert Tepper, are welcoming, efficient, and provide a great cooked breakfast that is high on quality with just the right amount of quantity-- enough to fill you up, but not too much to ruin your diet. Our room looked out on a lovely backyard garden. The hosts offer port or sherry in the living room downstairs. You will find yourself just 15 minutes from Stockbridge, and 12 minutes from a real find-- the John Andrews Restaurant in Egremont, with a new American flair, combined with Italian accents that we loved.
The prices were comparable, if not lower than, bigger stalwarts in the area, with a warm, cozy feeling we appreciated. We'll be back.

  • Liked — The fireplace in our bedroom
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cohen_Jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham ct
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2007

We brought our friends from Germany to the Berkshires to take in the fall colors. The Wainwright Inn proved to be a perfect example of what an elegant yet friendly inn can be. The rooms are spacious and clean and the innkeepers warm, friendly and informative. The breakfasts were truly gourmet wonders (three courses, starting with fresh baked goods, followed by fruit of the season and finished with a well presented and tasty main course). There is fresh coffee throughout the morning as well as an assortment of teas. The inn is a short walk from downtown Great Barrington, which is a very nice destination in and of itself. Various hikes are a short ride away (we went to the top of Monument Mountain and enjoyed some breathtaking views of the surrounding valley in it's fall splendor). The only caution I would give is that if you are a light sleeper you might want to avoid the two rooms next to the TV room where people gathering to talk or watch TV might be bothersome. Overall we had a very enjoyable time and can highly recommend the Wainwright Inn!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cinque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2007

An exceptionally clean and welcoming large, antique home a short walk from the downtown business district with it's shops and many restaurants. We were there for a 2-night getaway just after Labor Day when things tend to be quiet after kids have returned to school. A great area for antiquing and the many cultural activities avalable.

The innkeepers, Robert and Maria, are warm, helpful, and accommodating and Darrell plates a gourmet breakfast each morning served in the dining room.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Briarcliff Motel
Briarcliff Motel
#1 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.6 mi away
Windflower Inn
Windflower Inn
#2 of 12 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Barrington
The Barrington
#4 of 12 in Great Barrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright Inn

Property: Wainwright Inn
Address: 518 Main St, Great Barrington, MA 01230-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Wainwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing