We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wainwright Inn
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monument Mountain Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarcliff Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motel(Great Barrington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wind in the Pines(Great Barrington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
226
34
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
34
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housefront porchbreakfast was deliciouswest wingchris barbown bathroompope roomold housecycling clubhost and hostessdietary needsshort walkmodern amenitiesantique storeshomemade cookieswonderful hostslarge living room
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 267 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Marja and Robert are wonderful hosts. Marja suggested the perfect place for dinner nearby when we had a special need. She also suggested a local spa for my wife that could not have been better. Marja and Robert know their village and have done a spectacular job of renovating the Wainwright Inn to make it comfortable, welcoming and warm. The location is perfect - close enough to the village to walk and far enough away to enjoy the isolation of the country. The rooms met our needs and allowed both privacy as well as a sense of being "at home" when we wanted to use the common areas. This is an outstanding B&B and part of us wants not to share this information so that we can keep it "our secret!" Of course, that would not be fair to Marja and Robert - so if you read this and choose to stay there, enjoy! We know we will be back again, and soon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Wainwright Inn was exactly what we were looking for. A welcoming and comfortable B&B that provides one of the best breakfasts I've had. Wonderful location as well. My wife and I would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

This historic Inn is beautifully restored with great attention to detail. It was recommended by our Australian friends who stayed with Marja and Robert last year. We weren't disappointed. Our hosts Marja & Robert were only too happy to please. It is just 10 minutes leisurely walk into town for restaurants, cafes etc. Parking on site at rear was good. Lovely big verandah to sit and enjoy a wine or outside in the beautiful garden. Communal frig to use, TV and large living room with complementary port and sherry after dinner. Breakfast was fantastic ... alternating home cooked sweet and savoury main course in a cosy breakfast room. The Buckwheat pancakes were fantastic! Coffee and tea was available 24/7. Centrally located for Lenox, Tallowood, and Washington Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hinesite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

We feel very fortunate to have stumbled across the Wainwright Inn while looking for accommodation.

We were greeted by Marja upon arrival and were made to feel at home immediately. She ran through the basics thoroughly but quickly and let us know she would be on hand if we had any questions.

Our room (Berkshire Wing) was spacious, uncluttered, clean and the king sized bed was very comfortable - we had 3 nights of excellent sleep.

Marja and Robert were great hosts - not imposing but happy to have a chat and particularly to offer suggestions and recommendations for restaurants and activities, both in Great Barrington and our next destination, 100 miles away!

The breakfasts Marja cooked were amazing. Something different every day, filling but not excessive (although there is always the option to ask for more, and Marja ensured we were comfortable doing just that!). Marja was happy to provide a vegetarian option for me and I noticed that she accommodated a vegan diet also. There were always slices of freshly baked cake downstairs to eat with your cups of tea/coffee.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Wainwright Inn to friends travelling in the area. Our only regret is that we are unlikely to ever be in Massachusetts again and therefore no repeat visit!

Thanks Marja and Robert

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper50, Owner at Wainwright Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind words .
So happy you enjoyed our stay with us. We also hope you had a change to visit the restaurant we recommended in Battleboro.
Regards,
Marja & Robert.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

For the first time, after many years traveling with our two daughters, we had the chance to travel as a couple.So we decided to pick a B&B, and we had a lovely experience at The Wainwright Inn.The room was excellent, clean and the breakfast always a delightful meal, with something different every day, prepared by the Innkeeper herself.Marja and Robert were always available to give suggestions and advices where to go and where to eat.They also provided such a friendly environment, that we had a chance to meet another couple, that we later visited in Boston and established a new friendship.
We highly recommend for those who look for quality with a reasonable price.
Cynthia Pato Vianna - São Paulo/Brazil

Room Tip: The Ground Floor Room is the best one
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews