We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wainwright Inn
Nearby Hotels
Days Inn Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Great Barrington Lenox/Berkshires(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monument Mountain Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornewood Inn(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$199
$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Briarcliff Motel(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windflower Inn(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$140
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington(Great Barrington)(Great Value!)
$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Barrington(Great Barrington)
$275
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mountain View Motel(Great Barrington)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
226
34
4
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
226
34
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housefront porchbreakfast was deliciouswest wingchris barbown bathroompope roomold housecycling clubhost and hostessdietary needsshort walkmodern amenitiesantique storeshomemade cookieswonderful hostslarge living room
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 267 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed while visiting Tanglewood for a concert. Rooms are adequate. Only complaint is that proximity to the road makes it too noisy to sleep with windows open and window air conditioner was noisy. Fairly priced for the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoelGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I made a return trip to Great Barrington this weekend and the highlight of our visit was a restful and relaxing stay at the Wainwright Inn. Marja, Robert, and Darryl welcomed us like family, and it was great to see them and catch up with them. Our room was comfortable and immaculately clean, and our breakfast was delicious! Everyone went out of their way to accommodate our dietary restrictions. We will return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lctg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Wainwright Inn has become one of my favorite places on earth. Robert, Marja and Darryl always welcome us in as part of the family and immediately there is warmth and laughter. As always the breakfasts were phenomenal.

Lisa and I just spent Labor Day weekend there and it was just what the doctor ordered. We spent hours on the porch reading, playing cribbage and watching the classic cars drive by. We explored the area, ate great food, picked up real estate brochures and immersed ourselves in the Berkshires. On Sunday night a group of the guests got together with Robert, Marja and Darryl and we hung out on the porch eating and drinking and laughing.

We did not want to leave but we are now home relaxed, re-charged and ready to face the working world again.

Thank you Wainwright Inn. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sidken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was a great base for our stay in Great Barrington. It's in an old house (built in 1766) that's been expanded and updated several times. All in all, the inn was in very good shape, given its age.

Our spacious second floor room (Pope Room) had a four-poster bed, oriental rugs, antique furnishings, a very good shower/bath, and access to a large front porch. Even with the noticeable (over the sound of the air conditioner) street noise from busy Route 7, our room was fairly quiet, and we slept very well here.

Breakfast was excellent -- waffles with fruit one day, frittata another day -- and the help-yourself homemade lemonade was a great treat in the heat of a summer afternoon.

Most of all, we enjoyed our hosts, Marja and Robert, both of whom are from Amsterdam and have been running this inn for more than a decade. While Marja runs the show in the kitchen and banters with guests with a nice sense of humor, Robert is also very friendly and greets guests in the dining room with more low-keyed conversation.

We highly recommend this B&B for couples or others looking to stay in a handsome older inn -- in fact, we're already looking forward to a return visit in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DGandSAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Only stayed a night, but hope to return. This victorian inn is furnished with a nice mix of antiques and an unexpected feather hat collection. Rooms are spotless, inviting and comfortable. We enjoyed the front porch with friends. Warm hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GottaGetAway2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews