We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet and friendly...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monument Mountain Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“clean, quiet and friendly...”
Reviewed August 18, 2009

This is a very clean and well kept older roadside-type motel. We had a great room with a nice king size bed, brand new bathroom, fridge, microwave, and a great TV. The proprietors are really nice and helpful. The other guests were really nice friendly people. My only concern was that the lock on the door was pretty old and did not look too sturdy. Even with this we slept the entire night without anything waking us. I wish there were more places like this. It was a nice change from staying in chain motels. Well worth the low price. the best part for me was that it was scrupulously clean without perfumes, air fresheners, or awful cleaning products.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    92
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
69
109
31
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

The motel is very clean and has great mattresses. We spent one night and our room was quiet and has the basic amenities. The proprietor and his family work very hard at making you feel welcome.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, MA
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We were taking a short vacation in southern Berkshire County, MA and found the Monument Mountain Motel be be conveniently located to the many arts and nature destinations of the region. The motel is well run, clean, and the manager is extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InfrequentTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I have been coming to the Berkshires on business since December 2008. I have stayed at 4 different hotels but since staying in February at Monument Mountain Motel, I have not stayed anywhere else. This week I am here for 4 nights, last week 2 nights, the previous week, 3 nights, etc. Total nights here since Feb, 2009 have been between 50-60 times.

Sometimes my young nephew travels with me and the room is sufficient size so that we are not tripping over each other.

The rooms are always neat, clean and completely updated from the 1950's style motel.
I like that my vehicle is right outside of my door. This gives me easy access to load and unload all of my stuff.

Reception/Office is run by friendly yet professional family. They always ask about my family.

I hope you stay is as pleasant as all of mine have been.

Susan O'Leary

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonAuntie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Before we made reservations, I read the Tripadvisor reviews and indeed they were correct. This family who run this motel is very friendly and helpful . We stayed here so that we could attend the Tanglewood concerts in Lenox. Our room though small, was very clean with TV, refrigerator and microwave oven. The bathroom was quite large and had been recently remodeled. We would return here anytime. This motel was economical and definitely a great find.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MId-Sixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This motel is family operated. The rooms were all recently updated and the location is excellent. Minutes from center of Great Barrington and easy access to many recreational and cultural activities. Pet friendly, which is absolutely essential since my wife and I usually travel with our Wheaton Terrier. Television reception is a little sketchy, if that is important to you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLF6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

The Monument Mountain Motel was the perfect place to stay in the Berkshires for us,spotlessly clean,super-comfortable beds,friendly ,family-run,economical,and centrally located to explore the Berkshires!Highly recommended!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watchfind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
0.1 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
370 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
178 reviews
9.1 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monument Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monument Mountain Motel

Property: Monument Mountain Motel
Address: 247 Stockbridge Rd, Route 7, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1297
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monument Mountain Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Monument Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monument Mountain Hotel Great Barrington
Monument Mountain Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing