We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveler rating
368
91
16
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
368
91
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitgranolasconesmonument mountainlocal yogurthard boiled eggsgreat coffeebanana breadowners and staffpicnic tablesdelicious breakfastreception areanew englandgreat recommendationsold schoolshort drivecomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 479 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2016

What a welcoming place, from our late checkin due to heavy travel through our reluctant departure. The food, the lovely hosts (Richard & Clare are people you want to meet) and the welcoming, relaxed vibe make The Briarcliff Motel someplace I would highly recommend. All so beautifully renovated, great style...nothing forgotten. We have a teen and a tween and they had a wonderful time, soccer goals magically appeared when our son was shooting the ball around outside and the nightly fire-pit is super cozy. Convenient to all , especially hiking and if you aren't sure what you want Clare and Richard have endless spot on recommendations.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LILifer48080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We recently had our second wonderful stay the Briarcliff Motel. The property is conveniently located just outside Great Barrington on a scenic mountainside. Rooms are clean, efficient, and best, dog-friendly! The owners Clare and Richard are kind, thoughtful hosts always looking to make the experience pleasant, and not-to-be-missed is their (included) unbelievable breakfast spread featuring homemade granola and local (mostly organic) cider, coffee, yogurt, etc.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Call ahead for pet-friendly rooms
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijayiyer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Ok - I'd return just for those fresh scones every morning if I could, but this place offers so much more. The small boutique motel is refreshingly modernized and the innkeepers go out of their way to welcome and make guests feel at home. The rooms were comfy, beds terrific and everything spic and span inside. We slept very well having a room at the far end of the motel, sharing a wall with neighbors who were quiet. The breakfast offerings are ample, fresh and so very delicious, fresh breads, scones, granola, boiled eggs and an array of fruit and juices, plus coffee.
They also have a cute firepit out front with seating where one can relax and just read, along with some common places near the office.
Stockbridge is a few miles away and the beauty of the Berkshires is all around you.
Highly recommend visiting this lovely place to rest, relax and recharge!!

Room Tip: Every room is on ground floor, so all seem equal
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Another lovely weekend with Clare and Richard. The Briarcliff is perfectly located near hikes, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are clean, comfy and chic. Breakfast leaves you full and asking for their granola and scone recipes. We'd never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: There are two dog-friendly rooms; reserve them early.
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuthorLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2016

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location was very convenient, the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast breads were outstanding! We even got a chance to photograph a visiting black bear and to enjoy the wild turkeys! Only complaint was very noisy and not very efficient air conditioning. Would love to stay again.....

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nancycT8629NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews