We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming, cozy + warm hospitality to boot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Briarcliff Motel
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Charming, cozy + warm hospitality to boot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We decided to do a little Berkshires getaway for my birthday in November and after seeing a tweet about this little motel-turned-contemporary-b&b by Travel and Leisure there was no reason to look into staying anywhere else. And we are so happy we did!

Everything about this place was just right. First, I'm a sucker for beautiful thoughtful interior design. It was such a pleasure sipping on Barrington Coffee Roasters coffee in the morning while lounging against a comfy pillow "by the stove" in the common area. The breakfast was bountiful! I loved the fresh organic local yogurt with homemade granola that has just the right sweetness, but you could also choose from breakfast baked goods like scones, muffins and banana bread that the hosts bake every morning. Aran said the cheddar-dill scones were probably the best he's ever had! Our room was clean and also wonderfully welcoming! And I can't say enough about Richard and Clare - our wonderfully gracious hosts. All the love and sweat they put into this amazing place truly shows! And if you're wondering what to do, where to eat, what to see, they have tons of awesome recommendations! Oh, and location-wise Briarcliff is really close to anywhere you want to go in the area - from the towns of Great Barrington, Hausatonic, Lenox, Stockbridge, etc. to hikes like Bash Bish Falls.

Needless to say it was one of the best birthdays and we can't wait to keep going back! It's the perfect place no matter whether you simply want to frolic around the Berkshires or spend hours reading in cozy surroundings!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karoline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    82
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
128
206
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were taking a weekend away and she wanted to see the Rockwell museum. This seemed like a nice option near the museum. This motel isn't luxurious, but the rooms are clean, bright, and have been nicely decorated. My wife says it has a nice European style to the appointments. The bed, carpet, and furniture seem to be new. The shower has lots of plenty hot water. The bathroom very clean and nice, all the fixtures look new.

The breakfast is wonderful. Fresh scones and quick bread, fresh organic yogurt and homemade granola. We don't drink coffee, but the local cider was great. Lots of tea choices, all quality picks. Nice looking apples and bananas were also on the counter. The scones were different each day. Very yummy!

The hosts and the caretaker all had great advice for dining picks. (Like Naji's, a place we'd have never tried without their advice, and it was so good!) The hosts had also set up a table in the room for us as I'd requested.

Why not 5 stars? The noise from the next rooms was loud; the owners should think about some sound deadening insulation between the rooms. We used ear plugs the second night.

Would definitely stay here again. Recommended.

Room Tip: Maybe an end unit so only one potential side to provide noise?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Matthew G mentioned his disturbed Saturday night to us, so his feedback is expected. He is only the second person to have raised the issue of excessive noise from a neighbouring room in the eighteen months since we bought the motel. On the other occasion an unfortunate guest's heavily pregnant wife was trying to sleep to the soundtrack of a young couple enjoying a fond reunion after, presumably, some time apart. Frankly, ten feet of concrete would not have deadened the sound of their nocturnal activities.

Hotels are exercises in short term communal living, meaning that people travelling for different reasons on different schedules are close to one another. Nothing will change that. Luckily most of our guests travel here for similar reasons – to have a peaceful getaway in the country – so we sympathise with Matthew who for one night was adjacent to people who were the exception rather than the rule. We've considered extra insulation but running a hotel like ours is about trade-offs. Do we spend even more significant sums on the fabric of a vintage building, or do we continue to offer a level of value that's hard to find in the Berkshires? Based on two instances in 18 months we feel that, for now, offering value is the way to go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Dollar for dollar, this is a great hotel. It's an older, smaller motor lodge, but has been completely rehabbed and is clean, cozy and well-kept. Don't look for an indoor pool or room service; don't look for a phone! But the wifi was fast, the room was warm, and the homemade breakfast was above-and-beyond expectations. I don't know if we'll have occasion to pass back through this neck of the woods, but I'd recommend The Briarcliff if you do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We came up from Maryland, and The Briarcliff came highly recommended from my sister, because my sister knows me quite well. We loved the Euro flavor of this motel, from the IKEA-style designed furniture to the artwork, and the ski-chalet styled gathering room...even the continental breakfast of tea, granola, etc. was quite refreshing. It was very clean, the bed was quite comfortable, and it was located in an area that was very secluded and quiet. The price was very reasonable So much nicer than staying at one of those chain hotels. The owners were very personable, and they take great pride & care of their establishment. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights exploring the best of food, culture and foillage in the Berkshires. The Briarcliff Motel was the perfect location catering not only to our adventurous nature with hikes and activities close by, but also to our holiday mood where we as a family of 4 could relax and enjoy the atmosphere at The Briarcliff. The stylish modern interior had a strong vintage feel and made us right at home. And even though the beds were extremely comfortable we leaped out to go treat our selves to homemade scones, gourmet coffee and vivid conversation with the owners, Clare and Richard. Great hosts, cool'n cozy atmosphere, perfect location - we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms with inter-connected doors, great choice when traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tübingen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at Briarcliff Motel for one night coming from JFK on our way to the White Mountains. We were delighted to find such a nice motel at this rate. The rooms were all right though the bathroom was a little dark lacking a window.
Richard and Clare were really nice and prepared a lovely breakfast extra early for us, since we had to leave early.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuebidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We'd like to thank our guests from Germany for their sweet review. However future guests: please note that the only windowless bathroom at the motel is in our recently-added ADA compliant guest room, where it was not possible to install a window. All 15 other guest rooms have bathrooms with windows, allowing you to gaze fondly at the woods to the rear of the motel as you go through your personal routine. Or if you prefer complete privacy as you go about your toilet, request our queen room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We needed to escape the misery of a Hurricane Sandy power outage and wanted to take our dog with us. Found an recent article about the 20 best small town in America on the Smithsonian website. Top of the list, Gt. Barrington looked like a good bet. The rooms at the Briarcliff are pristine. Beds comfortable, rooms well designed with flat screen tv and free wireless. The breakfast room feels like the kind of cafe you wander into and end up staying for hours because it's such a pleasant place to sit and hang out. All the furnishings are carefully chosen. Not surprising as the owners, who both work the place hands on, come from design backgrounds.
Jessie the dog was made welcome and was given a goodie bag of treats.
Gt Barrington with plenty of restaurants and shops a theater and a cinema is fun to explore.
Better book early as this place is getting a lot of great press.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rebrog1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.0 mi away
No photo provided
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#6 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing