We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Briarcliff Motel ROCKS!”
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Briarcliff Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We attended a wedding in the local area and had no idea here to stay. We found the Briarcliff Motel on the web and were a little unsure, but it seemed nice enough. We were so amazed and thankful we found this place. Clare & Richard, the owners, made our stay here completely wonderful! From the newly renovated IKEA European flair rooms, to the homemade granola, muffins, pumpkin bread, local coffee, mountain views, and the landscaping, the Briarcliff Motel made a totally beautiful farm wedding, even more memorable! We will definitely be coming back to the Berkshire's and this is the place we will stay from now on! If you want the "perfect" travel experience, stay at the Briarcliff Motel, you will not be disappointed! Thank you Clare & Richard, it was awesome meeting you!

Room Tip: Just talk to Clare & Richard and tell them what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 466 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We've been to Great Barrington on many past occasions, but had never stayed in a hotel, motel, or B&B before this experience. There was so much to like about our time at the Briarcliff! The owners, a very hospitable English couple, could not be more accomodating or friendly. Our room featured a largely new, thoroughly clean interior with a wall-mounted flat screen television, superlative beds with pintucked down comforters, and vintage headboards. A nifty example of mid-century Americana motel design, the 1-story, crescent-shaped building allows for a lovely vista as one steps out of one's room, with Monument Mountain located just across the way. The informal, come-as-you-are breakfast offered excellent coffee, teas, and several fresh-baked goods, including an excellent savory cheese-herb scone. Our French bulldog (we stayed in the 1 pet-friendly room) absolutely loved the superb hilly plain immediately to the rear of the Briarcliff, for his brisk morning stick-chasing constitutional. The Briarcliff also provided us with half-price passes for the excellent local community center, with a gym, pool, hot tub, basketball, you name it, a short drive away. Leaving the Briarcliff, GB town is a 5-minute drive in one direction on one road, couldn't be easier. I will add that as much as we enjoyed our stay, the Briarcliff is only getting better, as quiet improvements (painting, etc.) were being made to the common area breakfast / adminstrative space throughout our time there. For us, just looking for a clean, comfortable, and affordable base camp over a 2-day, 1-night stay, without any "to-do," the Briarcliff proved to be the perfect choice.

Room Tip: My impression is that the rooms are all excellent. The Briarcliff is crescent-shaped and 1-story ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandro307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Clare and Richard, the motel owners, were wonderful hosts. They were very attentive and gave us great suggestions for local restaurants and activities. They're breakfasts were delicious and the motel room was very cozy. Our room had climate control and a flat screen TV, modern bathroom, and very comfortable bed and linen. They were very friendly and even let us borrow their outdoor chairs to go ice fishing with. They make their granola from scratch and you can buy a bag to take home with you, which I highly recommend. Best granola I've ever had! We can't wait to go back this spring! Thanks Clare and Richard!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Thanks to the reviews on Trip Advisor we picked the Briarcliff as a stopping point between Cooperstown, NY & Boston and we were so happy we did! Great hospitality from the owners, everything was wonderful. Richard directed us to The Brick House Pub for dinner, LOVED it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jabCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The owners of the place were so kind and showed great hospitality. They provided us with free wi-fi and great tasting/healthy breakfast. We loved the homemade crannberry muffins. We needed an extra bed and they put one in immediatley. The room was nice and clean with a scent of fresh mountain air. The bed was comfy and clean too. The view was beautiful displaying mountains, green trees, and a gorgeous lake. We felt like we were at home and a 5-star hotel at the same time. I cant wait to go there again! I suggest everyone coming to this area to stay here and treat themselves too a Briarcliff expirience. - Gulser Yaman

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gulser y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed with some old friends this past weekend at the Briarcliff. The hotel was immaculate and funky. Clare and Richard went out of their way to make us feel welcome. So much of the B&B business depends on the personalities of the owners, and they certainly fit the bill. They both went out of their way to help us find local attractions and dining. The breakfast was terrific -- homemade scones and muffins, as well as local coffee, granola, yogurt, and lots of fruit. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a clean 50s style hotel with cool updates.

Room Tip: I would request the rennovated rooms. There are three right in a row -- ADA queen, 2 doubles, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Top 5 reasons we love the Briarcliff:
1. Clean, modern and comfortable rooms
2. Great breakfast - home baked goods a la Clare and best homemade granola I ever had a la Richard
3. Family friendly
4. DVD selection for kids and adults with fun descriptions categorized around US, UK and New England.
5. But most of all the owners Richard and Clare who provided helpful tips for everything - including nice restaurant recommendations - Brick House Pub in Housatonic as well as Spoon in Lenox
This was the first time we were in the Berkshires and we will definitely be back at the Briarcliff - Clare and Richard are such charming Brits who truly made our family feel so welcome!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCFoodieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
315 reviews
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
388 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
517 reviews
7 mi away
LakeHouse Inn
LakeHouse Inn
#1 of 9 in Lee
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range: $82 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st-century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing