We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey and hip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Briarcliff Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Briarcliff Motel
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
1 review
“Homey and hip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

(lost connection-you may have recieved the beginning already).
The Briarcliff is a simply chic, immaculate, lovely place to stay. Our room was modern, sparkling clean and fresh, and comfortable. Plush comforters, flat screen TV's, heavenly soap, and an owl lamp I wanted to take home, made our home for a night, a delight. The owners, Clare and Richard also make a difference. In response to an enquiry about restaurants, Richard responded with detailed, funny and accurate recommendations. When we shared Clare's outstanding home made muffins and scones the next morning, they went out of their way to help us with local service ideas that we had been searching for. They are a special set of inn keepers, and we want to return for the room, for them, and for the exciting things they are planning. It couldn't have been a nicer experience, and...oh yeah-it's reasonably priced. Bravo Briarcliff.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    82
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
128
206
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eastchester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of October for a brief but relaxing getaway, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Briarcliff. The owners Clare and Richard were very helpful in recommending restaurants and helping us navigate the area. They also baked delicious homemade scones and other baked goods for breakfast, in addition to the homemade granola, yogurt and fruit that was offered. We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms (about half of them are renovated at this point I think), and it was very clean and comfortable with modern decor, which we prefer over the traditional floral B&B experience. The bed and bed linens were quite comfortable also, and the room was very spacious with a cozy sitting area and a flat screen TV. The owners have more renovations planned, including the other half of the guest rooms, and adding a larger lounge/dining space, which we hope to see when we (definitely) return in the future. The location is also very convenient for exploring the surrounding towns, which we did while we were there. This a a 60's style motel building that has been (and is still being) converted to a contemporary style B&B which is unusual, and we felt that it offered a unique combination of privacy (you park right in front of your door) and just the right amount of friendly hosting - and also convenience, modern style and comfort. A great experience overall!

Room Tip: The reservation system on their website allows you to choose a newly renovated room, which is what w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I (along with our dog) stayed at the Briarcliff Motel for two nights in early November. We were looking to relocate to the area and were planning on visiting various towns near the motel. We booked an updated room and were impressed with the overall feel of the place. The proprietors, Richard and Clare, did a wonderful job to help us navigate the area. They recommended great restaurants to try and gave honest opinions about the area while providing a comfortable, quiet place to stay and relax. I think if we had stayed at a generic hotel/motel we definitely wouldn't have had as good an experience (or as much a desire to return) as we did at the Briarcliff Motel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed in a very affordable updated room. The look was clean and modern, and the bed linens were high-quality. The bed frame was attractive, though the posts were wobbly and one nearly came off. I love the idea of an updated old-style motel, and I look forward to coming back when the guest area has been completed. Breakfast was delicious, and Claire was helpful and friendly. I would suggest upgrading the towels, which were thin and small, and perhaps installing heatlamps in the bathrooms. We kept the bathroom door closed, and the heat from the room never quite made it in there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClareBriar, Owner at Briarcliff Motel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Hi 'K' and thanks for the review! We're working on the towel situation - the flip side of having a beautiful view of the mountain is that we're on well water so we can't launder our own, which is what we'd prefer, but we've just managed to identify a much better supplier who will deliver to us up here. Seven months in, there are still things we want to improve, but we're glad you had a good time! best, Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agoura Hills, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of October. We have to admit that when we first saw the motel, we weren't sure what we signed up for. It has the look of a classic motor hotel from the outside. While our room was not one of the updated ones (quite busy in decor and a little gaudy- looking), the hosts were fabulous. The homemade goodies including a granola that was "to die for" was worth getting up early for. We stayed two nights and got up early to visit the Hancock Shaker village (fascinating), Norman Rockwell museum and a hike up to Monument Mountain (across the street). We wish the best for our wonderful hosts and would like to come again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnome2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Great place to stay, We stayed 2 nights, and were placed in one of the yet to be renovated rooms, the room was warm, clean, with plenty of hot water and the bed was very comfortable. You could even park right outside the rooms. Richard and Clare are great hosts, Richard's granola is delicious but try Clare's scones they're great. We were there in the middle of the snow storm and Richard drove off into it to obtain extra torches in case the electric went out. The location is wonderful and I'd recommend it to anyone. Good luck with the rest of the renovations

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank festive_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We had a romantic stay and enjoyed every minute of it. the bed was comfortable and the Briarcliff was close to all the things we wanted to spend our time doing. I was be back as soon as possible to enjoy another amazing stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Black Swan Inn Berkshires, an Ascend Collection Hotel
15.3 mi away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Briarcliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarcliff Motel

Property: Briarcliff Motel
Address: 506 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-1296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Great Barrington
#2 Business Hotel in Great Barrington
#3 Family Hotel in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Briarcliff Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New English owners Clare & Richard Proctor have turned this classic 1960 motor lodge, with its spectacular view of Monument Mountain, into a cool 21st century b&b. We offer great value, clean comfortable rooms with a stylish edge, free wifi, a home-made breakfast of scones, muffins and granola with locally-roasted coffee, and a warm welcome. Chill out on the deck in summer, or by the stove in our guest lounge in winter. We are five minutes from Great Barrington and Stockbridge, and under 15 from Tanglewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Briarcliff Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarcliff Hotel Great Barrington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing