We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Geneva NY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay!”
Reviewed April 21, 2007

This place has obviously had a total upgrade since the previous poster listed such dissatisfaction. I stayed at this location for 2 nights over the weekend and was very pleasantly surprised by the accomodations and the service.

When i arrived, all was waiting for me, including a phone message that the manager on duty was very conscientious about delivering the moment i entered the lobby.

When i got to my room, the key card would not open the door the second time i tried it. The manager came up immediately to try it himself and discovered that he could not get it to work either. I was in a panic because my suitcase was in the room and i was meeting someone for dinner in just 20 minutes. The manager swiftly used a standard key to open the door and moved me to another room right away.

So i got to see two rooms and they were both decorated in excellent taste with brand new looking furninshings, wall paper, borders. The mattress felt like a new one too, very comfortable. I was also pleasantly surprised to find a small microwave and mid-sized refrigerator in the room as well, along with the standard coffee maker.

My room had a view of the pool area. While it was not ready for use in late April, it looked clean, well landscaped and of a decent size.

If you stay here, check out the small restaurant that's just to the right of the motel. You can just slip through the break in the fence and walk over. It was the very best handmade hamburger i've had in a long time! (And a yummy basket of sweet potato fries and a tall frosty pink lemonaid completed the meal.)

All in all, for the price, i felt this place was an excellent value. And i would absolutely stay there again the next time i visit Great Barrington.

  • Liked — Clean, well kept, comfortable.
  • Disliked — A bit far from Great Barrington downtown.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    76
    74
    32
    29
See reviews for
88
70
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Family travel to attend a wedding. Booked for 4 nights. They required a signature up front that I later found out was authorization for the entire payment. When the massive April storm hit the Northeast and the local rivers were included in a flood warning, we checked out a day early. But since they had my signature, they said they had the authority to charge us for the entire 4 days.
The beds were old and sagged in the middle. The water pressure in the shower was barely a trickle. The continental breakfast was minimal: corn flakes, cheerios, and stale muffins and pastries sitting out in the open air.
If you do stay here, just pay for one night and then decide about additional nights. Pay for one night at a time.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ReggieWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Barrington hotels

Yonkers, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

My husband and I stayed at this Travelodge over New Years 2005/2006. We were placed in an uncompleted suite. (they were in the process of installing a sunken tub in the room) There was no insulation under the bathroom and there was no heat in that room either.

We had to request fresh sheets and pillowcases as the bed had not been changed! The room was filthy.

If we hadn't been working (we are musicians) and every other place wasn't booked up, we would have walked out.

  • Liked — There was NOTHING AT ALL I liked about this place!
  • Disliked — It was just plain dirty!
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid like the plague!
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank harpsichordgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2006

After I booked this property I read the reviews below and panicked a little. I was just looking for a simple inexpensive hotel for 2 nights. Upon arrival I asked to see the room and It was fine. It was clean - bathroom was perfectly clean and simple. I would be happy to stay there again. Had a frig and microwave and coffee maker located close to GB town.
Visit and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank temarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2006

I have to agree with the previous review, it was a disappointment. We were looking for an affordable place to stay with 2 young kids, so we needed a suite. The suite they booked us in did have a separate bedroom, but was in the annex, which is right on a busy road. We told them it was noisy and they moved us to two adjoining rooms in a quieter location, for the same price. The problem is that it's a cheap roadside motel, but we expected more for a price in excess of $200 per night. Berkshire summer weekends are pricey.

It wasn't too clean, the breakfast was just a few kinds of cereal and some coffee and juice. The showers are tiny and plastic. The rooms are pretty small. I didn't go into Comfort Suites, but it looked a lot nicer from the outside and is further from the main road.

So, if you don't have kids, I'd say stay at a nice B & B or Inn, if you do have kids, go for Comfort Suites.

  • Liked — adjoining rooms
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cobblehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2006

When we decided to add a night to our weekend in The Berkshires and were shut out of our original hotel, our options were limited and we were forced to book a "suite" at the Travelodge in Great Barrington. Our "suite" at $279/night turned our to be a normal room with a heart-shaped jacuzzi tub in the corner (which, because of its scummy appearance we did not even consider using). The room smelled -- literally -- from an overpowering disinfectant covering up the smell of smoke (even though it was a non-smoking room). The sheets, towels and pillows were of the lowest quality possible. The bedspread was filthy, as was the carpeting. The air conditioning was the kind that rattled noisily on and off according to the thermostat. And the wooden stairs to rooms upstairs were right beside our room so the sound of other guests tromping to their rooms woke us up. I have stayed at budget hotels like Hampton Inn and Comfort Inn, and they have been just fine. The Travelodge in Great Barrington was just gross.

  • Disliked — FIlthy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Capcityman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2005

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be very nice. The rooms have just recently been remodeled and look very nice. Our room had 2 double beds, a table and 2 chairs, a dresser, a fridge and microwave. The carpets and curtains looked new. Everything was clean. The bathroom was small but also very clean and fresh. The location is great as it is set back a little from the main road making it more quiet. The pool is even better as it is set in a large lawn area behind the motel. The hotel is right next to a restaurant and only a short walk to a supermarket. Breakfast is complimentary and consisted of tea/coffee, juice, bagels, danishes and cereal. A coin laundry is also available on site. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank themoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Barrington
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#4 of 10 in Great Barrington
677 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lantern House Motel Great Barrington
Lantern House Motel Great Barrin...
#3 of 10 in Great Barrington
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrington
Holiday Inn Express Great Barrin...
#7 of 10 in Great Barrington
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
295 reviews
6.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 9 in Lee
118 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Red Lion Inn
The Red Lion Inn
#1 of 1 in Stockbridge
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires

Property: Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires
Address: 400 Stockbridge Rd, Great Barrington, MA 01230-9513 (Formerly Barrington Court Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Great Barrington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Great Barrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Great Barrington Berkshires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Great Barrington Hotel Great Barrington
Travel Lodge Great Barrington
Great Barrington Travelodge
Great Barrington Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing