We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite spots”
Review of Gypsy Joynt - CLOSED

Gypsy Joynt
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
1 review
“One of my favorite spots”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I'm really surprised by a couple of the reviews above as my experiences at the Gypsy Joynt have always been so positive. I've eaten there at least 20 times and had the occasional "not friendly service" but if you're a regular anywhere you're going to find a server that has a bad day. The Weller family are a colorful and fun bunch and you're likely to find three generations there on any given day. The food is always good, the vibe always laid back, and the baked goods always excellent. I agree that the service could be faster at times but part of the "vibe" of the place is how relaxed it is. If you're on a 30 minute lunch break call ahead. I live and work in GB and the Gypsy Joynt is one of the few local spots I spend my money. If you haven't been there before the ordering part can be confusing so:
Order and pay at the bar first, find your seat, take the time to look at all the cool pictures, artwork, and funkiness then enjoy.
Make sure you try a cinnamon roll (the size of a vw tire) or the tiramisu, cookies. You can't go wrong.
Again, I visit the Gypsy Joynt because the vibe is so fabulous. If you're looking for a "laced up" restaurant go to any other place in GB.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    74
    11
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hippy cafe - amazing food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stopped in here for a bite to eat and some coffee. It takes a second to realize how the place runs (find your own table, order at the counter, be served by waitstaff, bus your table) but it was cool nonetheless. Large unique menu with tons of options for vegetarians and meat eaters. Cool, hippy vibe. Music performances at night.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JessGos1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Burgers with a Side of Racism”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

A few caveats - I was a server for years, so I understand how this business works, and also I'm black.

So let me start off by saying that I really wanted to like this place. I mean desperately wanted to like it. This is mainly because I don't like being miserable, but also because I recently returned from living abroad for a few months and was forced to spend the past few of my precious days in Great Barrington locked inside my apartment completing a law review article. The Gypsy Jynt was my first outing, and I was looking forward to having a good time.

The afternoon there started off great. The selection looked delicious, the beers were reasonably priced, and the atmosphere was chill. My boyfriend and I took a few menus, seated ourselves at the only open table in the place, then placed our orders and paid in advance by credit card (this becomes important later). When we set back down,we started looking around the restaurant at the decorations. That was when I noticed that they had this horribly racist tribal African doll set on the bar, directly in the view line of the table. Now, this wasn't one of those borderline, "is it or is it not"an extremely racist caricature kind of figures. It was a tar-black native, with giant lips and scraggly hair baring its teeth. The kind of doll that would be totally well-placed in the home of a klansman in the 1930's but seemed a little out of place in a hippie-themed cafe/bar designed to accommodate vegetarians and the gluten free whilst flying Tibetan prayer and gay rights flags.

I tried to ignore the thing, because my boyfriend and I had already paid and I really wanted to have a good time. But the more I looked at it, the more upset I got. At this point, we were still giving at least the servers the benefit of the doubt, since traditionally, servers have very little control over how their restaurant is decorated. Furthermore, Great Barrington is hardly a diverse town. We thought that they may not have been aware of how hurtful such portrayals are. My boyfriend offered to go up to nicely ask them to remove it from the bar, at least while we were eating, since the order had already been paid for and sent to the kitchen. Eventually, I said yes, since I didn't feel like being reminded of the historical subjugation of my ancestors while eating my chicken sandwich.

Of course, their reaction confirmed my great fears. These people were Grade-A, hypocritical, insensitive, a-holes. They did not apologize. They did not promptly remove one of the most racist pieces of iconography that I have ever seen from the bar . They defended it, In fact, they said he had a name. To their credit, they eventually removed it, after some back and forth. But afterwards, they looked at us like we were crazy, and later the management pointed me out to a few friends. Though, I tried not to let them, the people who worked here did a great job of ruining my afternoon. They also did a great job of making me feel like crap. They were happy to accommodate all sorts - vegetarians, the gluten intolerant, the LGBT- but not me.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank ygh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“great food but need to get a clock”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

i have had their pizza and wraps more than once but try ordering a large take out. Forget it.

This sunday I was designated to pick up the pizza for my granddaughters birthday party as I did last year. both time i had to wait over 15 minutes while hungry children were waiting.
but as i said food is really good and good pizza in great barrington is surprisingly hard to find considering all the new york weekenders.
suggestion- if you need take out order it for 20 minutes BEFORE you need it otherwise enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yysuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“TA does it again!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Found this place on TA while traveling in the area. A gem we could have easily missed without TA help. Fun atmosphere, fun menu, and good food. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch and would highly recommend for those looking to step outside of normal and have an experience!

Helpful?
Thank JMorr413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Joynt also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing