We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allium Restaurant & Bar

Allium Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Allium Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main Street
Transit: For public transportation within Berkshire county, contact Berkshire Regional Transportation Authority (BRTA) at (413) 499-2782 or (800) 292-2782. Great Barrington is also served by Peter Pan Bus (800-343-9999) and Bonanza Bus (800-343-9999) companies.
Description: Allium Restaurant + Bar serves casual contemporary American cuisine highlighting the best of the season in support of independent farmers and artisan producers using sustainable practices. The food is handcrafted by Chef Dan Hardy and his team; they take great care to source local and seasonal ingredients including farm-fresh produce, meats and cheeses. Menu items are paired alongside seasonal and small-production wines, small-batch microbrews and local spirits. Located in the heart of downtown Great Barrington at 42 Railroad Street, Allium Restaurant + Bar serves dinner nightly beginning at 5 p.m. and offers a late-night bar. All major credit cards are accepted. Co-owned and founded by Nancy Thomas and Bo Peabody, Mezze Restaurant Group is comprised of Allium Restaurant + Bar in Great Barrington, Mezze Bistro + Bar in Williamstown and Mezze Catering + Events, which provides full-service event planning. Mezze Restaurant Group is a member of Berkshire Grown, Slow Food and the Berkshire Visitors Bureau.
Queens, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

The food was absolutely outstanding, fresh, creative (and much of it local). Service was less than amazing, though.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kiralaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    81
    26
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“New chef-in love with Allium again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

The new chef is wonderful. Had a wonderful salad of heirloom tomatoes and Xmas melon (sweeter than honeydew). My friend had the burger, which was delicious-probably the best in the Berkshires. And, I had a great pasta dish, filled with local veggies. This restaurant has a cool, modern vibe and the service is friendly and attentive.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Funtravel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fresh Tasty Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Great experience. We started with a cauliflower steak for an appetizer. It had a sauce/gravy that was almost like an olive oil tapenade with a faint hint of garlic, served with pine nuts and fennel side. A great first course! Main courses were a trofiette pasta served with roasted vegys and a basil pesto. All were fresh and best of all LOCAL. The second main course was a taglietelle pasta with a beef ragu that melted in your mouth. This had a not so spicy hot sausage, all local. There was no hurrying with the meal. They have a large garage door that opens up mechanically to put fresh air into the restaurant. This was closed as it was too buggy. Dessert was homemade ice creams with a biscotti and a chocolate mousse/pudding served with a chantilly whipped cream. Total cost before tip and one glass of wine was under $60. Highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BBNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bad food with a vista of the toilet bowl”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I dined at Allium one fine evening in August. There was plenty of available tables, but the host placed us in front of the door to the toilet, that means one toilet for gents and ladies, no anteroom, so everytime a customer left the door open you had a nice vision of the toilet bowl while eating your meal. Waiters passed constantly by, but not one cared to close the door. About the food: I ordered pork, which -according to the menu- should have been slowly cooking for 48 hours and -according to the waitress- should melt in my mouth. Well, the meat was not even tender. The waitress insisted on substituting it with another plate (although I would have gladly finished my dish and left the restaurant), so I ordered pasta with ragù alla bolognese. Big mistake. I am italian, so I suppose I am biased, but that pasta was horrible. When we complained to the manager about the constantly open toilet door, we got a very rude response. Save your money and go to some other place, Allium is totally overrated and they do not know how to handle their business.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frome99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Refused to give a kid a side of pasta”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Not impressed. Portions were small. Waitress ignored us. Will not return. Liked it better when it was the previous Italian restaurant.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BFGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allium Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 
Great Barrington, Berkshires
Great Barrington, Berkshires
 

Been to Allium Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing