We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner”

Passports Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 139 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
1 review
“Fabulous dinner”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a great find! Had dinner last night, no reservation so had a seat a the bar. Friendly and helpful wait staff. Start you with warm fresh popovers! Really very good. I had the oyster stew which was fantastic! Could taste every ingredient! My daughter had a steak which was cooked perfectly and very tasty, husband had the paella that was also very good. Only complaint..... Too full for desert!! Would absolutely go again when in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEM1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    93
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“You've Gotta Try This Place!!! Really!!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you want the best food you've ever tasted for the most reasonable prices around, you've got to try Passports! This is a small, very unassuming restaurant on a corner on Main St. (looks like it used to be an old grocery store or some other type establishment in the olden days). From the beautiful tin ceiling to the wonderful old steam radiator on the wall to the windows that were kept original - an amazing little treasure. Nicole took our orders after serving huge, warm, melt-in -your-mouth popovers. The $3.00 salads were fresher than fresh and the gumbo was New Orleans style authentic. The Steak au Poivre with brandied mustard cream was perfectly cooked to order and the sweet potato fries delicious (to a non sweet potato guy). The Mango Salmon with sweet potato hash and fresh vegetabels was cooked to perfection and the mango salsa was awesome! The Swordfish and Seafood Paella with risotto were scrumptious. Now the desserts...omg! From the Lemon Cake, to the Creme Brulee to the superb Peach & Raspberry w/caramel Bread Pudding (died and gone to heaven!)...this remarkable gem in the heart of a quaint New England town is a must for anyone looking to enjoy fantastic cuisine that won't overburden your wallet.!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ctwix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The food is awesome (try the paella), healthy portions and the staff is very pleasant and accomodating. Your meal starts off with a very warm - just out of the oven popover. Depending on the night, you may need reservations...it's that popular!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice and unique menu”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our second visit and it did not disappoint. It is located on the south end of Main street, right in the hub of all the boutique shopping and minutes from the wharf. The restaurant has a nice vibe in an old building. The window seats are fabulous and there is also a small bar with a TV but it did not intrude on our dining. The menu is very eclectic pulling from many ethnicities and doing them all in a unique and tasty way. Portions are generous too. You can get something as homey as meatloaf or much more exotic like seared tuna in lettuce wraps (a hit with my gluten intolerant son) They have a GF menu too and are attentive to your issues. I recommend eating here with friends or date night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachcrazyBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Pines, MD
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It may not look like much and it may turn you off with it's "healthy, natural' organic" approach but 4 of us had a lunch there that was amazing. I had a Fried Oyster Poo Boy sandwich that was the best sandwich I think I've ever had. And the price was very reasonable. My wife had a steak salad that was equally delicious and reasonably priced. This place made me wish I lived in Mass. instead of Maryland. I would eat there regularly if I did live near by. The other couples meals were also just as good and reasonably priced. If I could criticize anything it would be that the accompanying green salad had a little too much oil in the dressing for my taste but it was absolutely delicious as well. If you care about food more than atmosphere, as I do, this is your place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bobsynth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passports Restaurant also viewed

Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Passports Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing