We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best value ever”

Causeway Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 141 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
366 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“best value ever”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

sure it could be on "diners, drive-ins and dives" but the food is outstanding, the portions huge and the prices very reasonable. You cannot get any fresher seafood anywhere, friendlier service anywhere or a better value anywhere. The restaurant will probably be upset for me telling you this, but two people can easily share a meal. You could go to the fanciest or most expensive restaurant and not get a fresher portion of seafood or fish. It is truly from boat to table. If you want more privacy, nicer napkins, ambiance, etc along with double prices and smaller portions, this is not for you. But if you want very well prepared seafood or fish, oversized portions and hard working servers at great prices then you must try the Causeway. There is usually a wait and unfortunately you need to wait outside in the elements but I say it is worth it. The baked rum haddock is delicious in addition to all the seafood dishes. I even thought the salad was terrific!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lash23_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    445
    238
    48
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kearney
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Squeezin em in”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Used to be a time there was elbow room and wasnt overloaded with tourist. Times have changed along with the prices. U can get the same food and service elsewhere with room to move in your chair and have some kinda atmosphere. This place lacks that. Quality of food was great as always. Outpriced themselves compared to before they get all the GPS x google search traffic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SCLOUGH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Still Solid”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We ate at and reviewed the Causeway about a year ago, and came back on a return trip. Not much has changed -- solid seafood, nothing really remarkable but all tasty. A great spot for local-watching. BYOB, no reservations. Portions are mammoth We love the seafood marinara in particular but be forewarned -- one serving could feed most of the Coast Guard.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jakester88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absurd Proportions of Classic Ocean Town Eats”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The one thing to note of this restaurant is to expect big portions. The food is tasty, but will not blow you away. The clam chowder was excellent but I made the mistake of getting that and the haddock sandwich one day. I have rarely been surprised and shocked at a meal when it has landed in front of me, but by the time my sandwich got there I had no idea what I was going to do with it. The seating is tight but go there before the lunch rush of 12pm and you should be fine. I believe it was BYOB there but there is (was) a liquor store next door. It's also a little secluded on Route 133 but that's not necessarily a bad thing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Makinola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for many years, always a wait but worth the wait. Thinking they should of got liquor store next store when they left, bugs outside are almost unbearable while waiting for a table

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvmyteams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Causeway Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Causeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing