We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy and nice fish place”

Causeway Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
massachusetts
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“noisy and nice fish place”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Busy in summer season ... freshest fish possible ... prepared baked, fried or however you like. Very casual ... BYO alcohol ... next door is a package store. Fast service and good meal assured.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jordanlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    233
    48
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better be hungry”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

large portions, always busy. Crowd moves fast, so do the staff...
I love the Coconut Rum Haddock....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank D J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Large helpings and great food!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were going on a whale watching trip in June 2012 and wanted something small and not spicy for lunch before we boarded the boat. My family and I ordered cheeseburgers though their seafood looked great. The cheeseburgers were not small but huge with large helpings of fries! My husband ordered a bacon cheeseburger and had 8 pieces of bacon on his sandwich. It was way more than we could eat. We saw the seafood plates being served and they were loaded as well. Very friendly service with local flair.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bamasattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great place for seafood quality and price”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

By far I have had the best seafood in my US experience at this tiny little place in Gloucester. It was a real surprise, but I am used from Albania to find the best and freshest food in rural-looking restaurants or eateries. The shrimps and other seafood I tried at Causeway were the best I have tried in MA by far. The fish chowder was another very pleasant surprise. Be aware that the portions are huge and the prices are more than affordable. Good white wine can be bought at their attached liquor store. Overall, we had a great experience between friends, while the people there were friendly too. Looking forward to go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great local seafood restaurant”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a small, local restaurant that will serve you a delicious, fresh cooked meal. The portions are large and reasonably priced. Don't miss this gem, but do expect a wait, especially in the summer months. The good food is well worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Causeway Restaurant also viewed

 
Gloucester, Cape Ann
Gloucester, Cape Ann
 

Been to Causeway Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing