We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming historic gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Julietta House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Julietta House
Ranked #14 of 17 Gloucester B&B and Inns
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming historic gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2009

We rent all the rooms of this wonderful historic house yearly for our annual reunion to reconnect with old friends, kick back and relax. The owners are very accomodating and see to our every need. The kitchen is stocked with all essentials for cooking and the atmosphere is so condusive for catching up. It's a very clean and comfortable home. Appropriate appointments and furnishings compliment and enhance the experience. If you're in the mood it's just a short walk and you're at the lively downtown, shopping and restaurants. Highly recommend Julietta House.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed here with our 2 kids to do a little swimming at the beach. While it's not on the beach, it is close to all the good restaurants, grocery, pharmacy, etc which is good for a long term stay. We were there for a week. Our interactions with the owner (Susan) were minimal but she was very helpful/knowledgeable and friendly. The house was very clean and our room was great; in the back of the house. The street out front is a little busy, but we weren't expecting a quiet country inn. We will definately stay there again if we go back to Gloucester.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huckle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2008

I called this inn today because I plan to attend a wedding in a couple of weeks in Gloucester. When I told the owner that my two married sisters might also want rooms, I got the opposite reaction than I had expected: she said that she was not sure if she would accept my reservation and insisted that I should complete an application to rent the entire house providing details of what we would be doing while there.

She said that even if I wanted to make the reservations in my name and pay for my sisters' room rates, she would still insist on speaking to each guest on the phone in advance to explain the policies of the house. She said she really did not want several guests at her house if they were part of a group because if there were any other guests at the house, they might feel left out, and this is why she would require us to rent the whole house if it were available. And she also claimed that my request was "last minute." (Actually, I called 17 days in advance.)

I understand the goal of trying to let each guest have their own privacy and full use of the house, but to try to screen people like this struck me as very odd. At a minimum, it seems like a scam to try to force people who might otherwise only want three rooms to rent the entire house.

In any case, it must be a winning formula and she must have a lot of money because she said she didn't want my business and hung up the phone on me.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank jsmith6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliettahouse, Owner at Julietta House, responded to this review, July 10, 2009
Even though, we are very "hand's off" with guests, providing a very private stay, letting people into your home can be a rather intimate business.

I admit, I was confused by this callers questions. I wished I'd handled this better. It didnt go exactly the way he described, but, I do tend to ask questions of my callers in order to provide them the best possible experience. He asked for one room for one person, for one night. Then, tried to rent the whole house.

So..... when I began to ask questions he became offended and sort of insulted me. The more I explained... the more offended he became. And so it went. It was a bad call for him and an equally bad call for me. Please accept that I try very hard to do my best to be kind and helpful. But, I'm human.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

My wife, twins, and I were coming in for a wedding and were booked at the Cape Ann Motor Inn. This was one of three choices given in the "wedding weekend invitation packet" received earlier in the year. We booked it since one property didn't answer (off season) and another had a three-night minimum.

The day before our departure we were told of the Inn's reputation for being a dirty beach place and that it should be OK if we don't mind walking on the previous guests' spilled beer in our room. Calling to get a refund was another story... we got our money back, lesson learned, never again.

All this to let the reader know how we happened upon Julietta House by happenstance. Little did we know the extent that it would enhance our weekend and create a wonderful experience overall. The owner was helpful and honest. The accommodations were clean and as promised. The location was central and within walking distance to fine food and quaint shopping. Though there is no breakfast included in the stay, there is a great little diner around the corner if one enjoys local color! Eating there was like going back in time.

Even if there might have been some weeds in the yard and blue pillow cases (see previous review), our stay would have been nothing less than terrific. We wish the owners the success they deserve and future guests the experience we had.

  • Liked — The owner... everything as promised.
  • Disliked — Not in the most pristene area, but no big deal.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NirRegev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here for a night in June and enjoyed it greatly. It's a well renovated place with all the nice historic details. You can get a good impression of the place by checking their website. The photos you find online accurately characterise the place.

You can get very good deals for the place on the internet. And the rooms are very nice and clean. Our room didn't have A/C, but a van and a big roof terrace.

As you can read from their homepage the house is self-catered. There is no guardian on the premise. Additionally, you can only lock the rooms from the inside; the owners didn't want to damage the old wooden doors. You can lock your valuables in a safe. We simply left our stuff in our trunk. We didn't mind, but if you do, you shouldn't stay here. Atlernatively, if you are a larger group you can rent out the whole place.

The sole minus was that they had forgotten our arrival time. We were left alone in front of the house (effect of not having a permanent guardian). Unfortunately, we did not have a cell phone either, which made communication rather difficult. But the situation was resolved by a pay phone and taking a small tour of the city. In general, I would call prior to arrival just to make sure.

In the end we made a long trip of New England and we came to consider this place as one of the nicest places we stayed.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Getting the keys
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundtrip_Rob1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

My friend and I wanted a weekend away at the ocean and were very pleased to find this excellent accommodation.
The house is beautiful, Susan the owner, is friendly and charming and the location couldn't be better.
The whole place is homey, cheerful and impeccably clean. When I called to make the reservation, Susan was very clear in her directions and in describing what we were to expect upon arrival. She also gave us great restaurant tips for breakfast and dinner.
The adventure was in exploring this great old house, learning some of its recent history from Susan, and answering the doorbell our first evening to a delightful couple from Montreal looking for accommodations. We made them welcome while they contacted Susan by phone and it made us feel we were an integral part of the home.
All of Cape Ann is gorgeous at any time of the year, and Julietta House is a great place to stay while you visit there.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — The ambiance
  • Disliked — that I couldn't stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — this is a great place to go for a long weekend
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank indigo-bunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

All the comforts of home! If you have a group or large family, I highly suggest you try and get this house. The owners are easy to deal with and there are no hidden costs or suprises!!

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CGCycling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.5 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.0 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.5 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 17 in Gloucester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Julietta House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Julietta House

Property: Julietta House
Address: 84 Prospect St, Gloucester, MA 01930-3710
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Julietta House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of historic Gloucester, the Julietta House is a Casually Elegant Self-Catering Inn. This 16 room Grand Georgian is a quiet retreat that offers carefully prepared guest rooms with all private baths. Caters to the independent traveller, who will enjoy plenty privacy and have access to the entire house. Footsteps to breakfast at Sugar Magnolia's, fine art at Cape Ann Museum, whale watches at Cape Ann Whale Watch, live music at the Rhumb Line, fine dining at Latitude 43, as well as the train to Boston and Salem. Symphony at the Shalin Liu and Good Harbor Beach are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Julietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julietta House Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing