We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Love this Inn will come back to stay again wonderful and helpful staff comfy beds and awesome view of ocean! Close to everything, Charlie's is right down the road if you want great fish and chips or a lobster roll the housekeeping staff was very nice and room was very clean. If you want to go to Salem this Inn is close by so its a short trip and a five min drive to Rockport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (447)
There are newer reviews for Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

I can't believe I forgot to review Bass Rocks after my stay there. It was amazing.

I stayed in one of the suites in the main house of the hotel and it was beautiful. There was a small kitchenette as you came in the door, a sitting room, and a bedroom area (all in one large space) with a gas fireplace. The windows looked out over the ocean and at night I opened all of the windows and let the wonderful sea air blow in. The bathroom has a nice deep tub, but the space was definitely small. The furniture was all very comfy - especially the bed. There were luxurious feeling linens on the bed and a lot of pillows.

I loved that they had bikes out back for the guests to use. I was only there one night, but I would love to go back.

Room Tip: Suite 501 has a fireplace, a great view of the ocean, and is at the back of the main house.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent 3 relaxing days at Bass Rocks Ocean Inn. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was small but clean and had all the necessary toiletries. The best thing about the room was the great view of the Atlantic Ocean - even better if you get up to catch the sunrise!

We really enjoyed the complimentary breakfast at the Stacey House which included hard boiled eggs, cheese, yogurt, bagels, muffins, scones, cereal, oatmeal, bananas, apples and oranges. Also, plenty of free Starbucks coffee and Tazo teas!
Definitely take a stroll on the paved path along the shore - it's only about a 15/20 minute walk to Good Harbor Beach.

My 'downtown' Gloucester dining recommendations:
- Lunch: Sugar Magnolias
- Dinner: Jalopenos (mexican), Azorean (portugese)

Favorite day trips:
- Ipswitch: Crane Estate/Crane Beach; try lobster rolls at Ipswitch Clambake.
- Salem: enjoyed Maritime Historic Site and Essex/Peabody museum.
- Rockport: get cooked lobsters at Roy Moore Lobster Co.
- Gloucester: stroll along Stacy Esplanade to see Fisherman's Memorial; also stroll down Main Street for great ding and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTrailsNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you want to stay in a nice inn with an up close view of the Atlantic Ocean, it is hard to surpass this place. Although we stayed only the one night, it was well worth the short detour. Rooms are spacious and bright. Would return anytime.

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank db1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely rooms and views especially and very comfortable bed.
The staff were helpful and sorted out the problems we had quickly.
There is a nice DVD library too which is handy.
Bathrooms as small but nice toiletries and immaculately clean.
The breakfast was OK but only OK. At the price I would expect something better than the canned fruit, paper plates and plastic cutlery.
Nice to have the bicycles there but you can only use them for an hour or so and there is no provision for using them to cycle to town which is a bit of a shame I thought but overall a lovely place to stay and I would go back for sure.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank anklejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First of all, I spend about 120 days a year in hotels, so with that as a preface...this place is great. very quiet, great big beds, every room with a fantastic view of the ocean and a balcony. Free starbucks coffee, free DVD's, free books, free breakfast, late check out time. Can be a little noisy from rooms beside and above, but I bring earplugs, so it never bothers me. Only about a 5 minute drive (and a beautiful one) to restaurants and shops. Book with confidence.

Room Tip: Second floor is probably best.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gibbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Our family of four stayed 2 nights in room 105. We loved it. Beautiful location, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast, delicious cookies. The game room has board games, pool, magnetic darts and books that we enjoyed. We enjoyed the library of DVDs available for loan. Bikes are also available for loan. Pool was beautiful. We walked to the beach- it was gorgeous! We would definitely like to come back. Everything was exceptional!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcssunshines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
Beauport Hotel Gloucester
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
398 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#4 of 6 in Rockport
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#3 of 6 in Rockport
338 reviews
2.4 mi away
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
Cape Ann's Marina Resort
#6 of 7 in Gloucester
178 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks

Address: 107 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4398
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range: $173 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean House Hotel at Bass Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester
Ocean House Hotel At Bass Rocks Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing