We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely...but the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely...but the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Inn is absolutely lovely and situated very well...don't think there's a bad room in the place. The rest of the reviews pretty much say it all...but I don't think I'd stay again for a couple of reasons.
First--and the only reason directly related to the hotel itself--is the size of the bathroom and general crowed nature of the room. The bathroom's size was a problem since there is only one tiny shelf and nowhere to store toiletries and make-up, mirrors, etc. I used the end of the ironing board which I put up and kept outside the bathroom door. This only worked because there were only 2 of us in the room--my husband and I--and this arrangement did make getting in and out the door interesting!
The other reasion is the area in general. Yes, Gloucester and surrounding towns are interesting--each in its own way--but restaurant offerings were lacking if you are looking for something that doesn't just take advantage of the ocean location, but does it well and upscale without being ridiculously impressed with itself, if that makes any sense. We routinely eat at white tablecloth restaurants and others that are well decorated and employ a well-trained waitstaff...I don't know how to explain this without sounding stuffy, which I'm not...but let's say there aren't many restaurants, at all, that are listed as inns or are the kind you'd want to go to for a lovely evening out. There are some very good restaurants that are larger, a bit noisier, kind of casual, and situated on the water...there are some that are clearly impressed with themselves...but there are very, very few others. There are a couple in Manchester, but that's all we found. For us, this is a deal breaker, unfortunately.
I would absolutely recommend Bass Rocks to anyone who wants to eat some exceptional seafood and sleep in a wonderful location...but wanted to give you my "read" on the area.

Room Tip: The end king rooms are great--second floor would offer the best privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellverswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    85
    23
    3
    9
See reviews for
118
228
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent 5 days at Bass Rocks and loved it. The view was magnificent. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was light fare and delicious. There was plenty of food, including home baked goodies. We had a second floor king bed room. The bed was quite comfortable and the room was very clean and well cared for. The balcony had a table and two chairs and a beautiful view of the water. The balconies are not very private, because there is no divider between each room's balcony. However, they aren't close together and it was never an issue. Other people on the balcony were friendly, but also respectfully quiet. The pool is heated which made the temperature very pleasant and still refreshing even on a hot day. This place is a short distance from Good Harbor Beach which we loved. You can get half off parking coupon from the front desk. I do think the second floor rooms are the best, because people often walk by the first floor rooms, so they are a bit less private. I highly recommend Bass Rocks Ocean Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jones1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Just came back from a 5 day stay at Bass Rock and although the weather didnt cooperate we still really enjoyed our stay. The views are breathtaking to say the least. We were on the lower level of the Seaside House and have no complaints about the room. They have a great breakfast set up every morning and the staff really know how to take car of you especially Brandon. We will definitely be back and hope next time it's better beach weather

Room Tip: Seaside House is a little less expensive but great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stag11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed there the last night of the season. It was pleasant. Our room was a standard motel room with lots of room and a balcony from which we could see the sea. The road, which separated us from the sea contained a wonderful sidewalk. We enjoyed the walk to Gloucester Beach. The staff was very friendly. The balcony was a joint one so you could meet other people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auroraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
352 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

You can’t beat the location or view. The beds are comfortable and the spread at breakfast works very well. If you’re a walker or runner, just walk across the street and start. Games and videos are available as well as a pool. The downsides are a very small bathroom and a high priced room. On a Sunday check out I asked if it was possible to extend the checkout by an hour. I was told no problem but it would cost us an extra $25. Not quite what I was expecting after paying $320 a night. That is management, the staff however was great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I think they wash the air at this beautiful location. It was the most beautiful and relaxing view one could want! The Bass Rocks Inn is wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and found the staff to be gracious and accommodating as we made minor changes to our original reservation. We drove to nearby Rockport and spent a fabulous day walking around the many many adorable shops and restaurants....shout out to The Seventh Wave for the best lobster roll EVER! Loved returning to Bass Rocks Ocean Inn to relax. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davisny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Fantastic accomodations, friendly staff, made our 25th wedding Anniversary a memorable one.
It is also in a great location that allows easy access to shopping areas and highways.
I would certainly recommend this INN to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 218 and it's very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteamRoller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Bearskin Neck Motor Lodge
5.0 mi away
Emerson Inn
Emerson Inn
#4 of 6 in Rockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
14.4 mi away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Rocks Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Rocks Ocean Inn

Property: Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Address: 107 Atlantic Rd, Gloucester, MA 01930-4398
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gloucester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bass Rocks Ocean Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier oceanfront hotel and historic inn, Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was built on the rocky coastline of Cape Ann, home to America's Oldest Seaport. Beautifully restored Stacy House (1899) suites with pillow-top beds, flat panel t.V.'S, and Jacuzzi tubs. Individual suites offer gas fireplace, separate sitting and sleeping rooms or wrap-around view. Modern Oceanfront House and Seaside House open onto patios or balconies with sweeping views across the lawn and out to sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bass Rocks Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bass Rocks Ocean Hotel Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Gloucester
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing